drip freeze drip freeze   14 comments

Oh man, I think we are in for it.

The warmth on Friday made all of our snow full of water. Then it froze. So all paths and the driveway became sheets of ice.
ice

Then it started raining, and it rained all yesterday afternoon. Then it snowed last night. Now it is raining.
The trees are coated in ice. The house is coated in ice. The partially complete screened porch is coated in ice.

icy porch

A and I went out and shoveled off the front deck – 20 inches of snow had compacted into about 10, and had about half an inch of ice on top, so that was our aerobic workout for the day.

Now the deck is coated in ice.

As we were shoveling, we noted that “at least it isn’t windy.”

But I notice that a gentle breeze has come up and the trees are stiffly moving to the beat. I fear that soon we will hear the sounds of breaking branches in the woods, and I hope that we don’t hear any trees falling on house or drive or wires, but if that happens, we are ready. Jugs of water, cell phone charged. Plenty of activities to do that don’t require electricity.

more ice

The only bad part? Sound of Music is on tonight, and I have the DVR set to record it. Yes, I have the VHS tape, and so could watch it any time I wanted to go upstairs, get the VCR, bring it down and figure out how to hitch the old stupid thing to the new smart TV. But I would rather watch it the lazy way. 🙂 And yes, I do know it by heart – literally word for word. But I love it and want to see it tonight. So I hope it warms up a few degrees and the wind doesn’t come.

cherry tree on ice

14 responses to “drip freeze drip freeze

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Despite it being icky ice, it looks beautiful! Hope you get to watch your movie 🙂

  2. Hope the weather improves. Ours is ridiculously wet and about 5-12c. My lawn is mud interspersed with puddles. We’re on clay so I suppose this is only to be expected…

    • My mom used to have clay in her yard, so I know how slippery clay mud can be – and how long it takes to dry out! I hope it stops raining on you soon!

      • Haha it just got a lot worse. We have floods, trees down, the works across Somerset. We’ve just cancelled our dinner out. At least I don’t have to go into my garden. You have to drive in the weather you are having which must be tough.

  3. I hope it doesn’t get as bad as you fear. Here in upstate NY we didn’t have it too bad but I guess Vermont had more trouble. Good luck!

  4. Now that is ice. Hope all is still well and electricity is still running.

  5. Hope all is well and that you got to see the movie. My Aunt in Auburn said it wasn’t too good last night. Crossing my fingers for you.

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

