Saturday morning   16 comments

I thought it would never get here!  We are on vacation this week.  Not going anywhere, just staying home and racing around like fools, spending money.

Sounds like an odd way to spend a vacation, right?

Here’s my idea of a perfect vacation:

Go someplace picturesque and secluded near the ocean with a good porch, nearby take-out (better yet delivery) for food.

Then spend the week swimming, sitting, knitting, maybe going for a walk or two, seeing some sights, but mostly staying put.  Spend time just watching the sun go up and down, watching stars and moon circle over head.

 

Here’s what we are doing this week:

Today, vet appointment for both cats, visiting niece B and I will go do the grocery shopping and stop to get paint.  Finally have to make a real decision on the inside of the bookcases.  Bet you forgot about those, right? Start clearing out the loft.

Tomorrow, work on clearing out the loft some more, meet A’s family in Brewer at 1 for her birthday lunch. Do some mattress shopping if any of the stores are open. Start painting the inside backs of the bookcases

Monday – supper at mom’s.  Painting prep in loft before hand

Tuesday – sit home and wait for the Hughes net guy.  Internet is spotty, and we think the dish needs adjusting. (Wifi is wonderful though, I am sitting in the bedroom and I am online and I have no long cable!!!) Either get ready to paint or actually paint.

Wednesday – no specific plans, but hope to be painting the loft by then

Thursday – car appointments in Bangor followed by mattress shopping if we haven’t already gotten one.  Prep guest room for a visitor.

Friday – Mom arrives to visit and help with painting!!

Saturday – more visiting with Mom and painting, hopefully finishing it so bookcases can begin to be installed.

Sunday – installing bookcases and possibly beginning to put the room together.

Monday – go to work and get some rest.

Now doesn’t that sound like the perfect vacation?   There are also many other things that need doing that will fill in while paint is drying.  There are birthday cards to be made before we fill the craft room with everything from the loft.  There are leaves that need raking, a  pool that needs cleaning. Cars need to be registered.

And gosh darn it, I am going to KNIT.  I have three shawls on the needles, I would like to finish at least one this week.

Maybe I should have taken two weeks off?  All these things we are spending money on, and none of them are really fun.  😦  I’d rather spend it on the perfect vacation, but I guess this is more responsible, right?

And yes, Crimson Crow, we DO want to get together with you and eat ice cream!  I’ll call you.  🙂

On the actual news front – the phoebes are back!!!! Tiny little leaves on the roses! Buds on the daffies!  Leaves  up on the lupine!  Before you know it we will have flowers.  🙂

 

 

 

16 responses to “Saturday morning

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have a wonderful and productive week. Sounds truly hectic.

  2. A busy vacation! Don’t forget to schedule some relaxation time in there. Our daffs have come and gone. I love lupine, but it just doesn’t grow for me here. The fruit trees are blooming and the dogwoods also.

    • oh, real spring! It is coming here but so slowly. I find time to knit a bit here and there, and things in the loft went much better than expected in the cleaning phase, so I am hopeful the painting will happen sooner rather than later tomorrow I prep the room.

  3. Your week sounds kind of awful but you will be thrilled with all the results, I’m sure. And I’m also sure you’ll fit in some knitting time! Try to relax at least a little!

    • I will be thrilled to get that room done – then we can finally finish unpacking, and see if we really need everything in all those boxes! but between here and there – oh dear. Work we have been putting off for years. But this is the week, we are determined to get it done.

  4. I think it’s the same for all of us; there’s always so much to do, it just doesn’t fit in between non-working hours. But I’m sure getting on top of all that lot will give you a real buzz. And, next time you take time of work you can spend the whole time relaxing 🙂

    • how does there get to be so much to do? it seems the more we work, the longer the list gets. But you are right, there will be time off this summer with only outdoor work, which I love and which I get to break up with swims in the pool. Assuming summer ever arrives…

  5. That doesn’t sound like a holiday…. Time off yes, holiday no.

    • lol you got that right! And I am working on DM in the evenings. I think there are more than 600 stitches a row now. So even though I only have 8-9 rows left, they take hours! So much for finishing this week. Sigh.

  6. Sounds like a vacation I’ve had before. Be sure to take time to relax 😊

    • I will try. Forced relaxation at the end of the day, when I am so tired and sore I can’t move. But it is worth it, that room will be finished this week or else! 🙂

  7. I do actually agree with you going nowhere on vaca is heavenly especially when you have a home project going on.

  8. I like your idea of the perfect vacation. I am a homebody, so staying at home with nothing to do but my crafts is very nice. I wouldn’t mind a beachy place with a deck I can sit out on and knit or crochet or cross stitch while looking at the water. And watching the sun come up and go down sounds heavenly. I hope that you get a lot of time to knit and relax during your vacation. Looking forward to seeing those shawls.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

