Friday before a craft fair   15 comments

Different kind of a list today, because tomorrow I will have a booth at my very first craft fair.  I am nervous about it.  Nervous I don’t have enough inventory, nervous I don’t have enough variety, nervous I have the wrong sizes/colors, nervous that my prices are too high, nervous I will sell out early, nervous I will not sell anything.

I need to ignore all that and just get ready and do my best, right?  This is how I learn what sells.

Today I need to make sure I go over my list and pack everything I will need, then load the car with it all and head out.  I’ll be staying overnight at Mom’s, as she is right near the venue (the Owls Head Transportation Museum in Owls Head, from 9-2 on Saturday, please come if you are in Maine!) and is happy to have me.

Today I will set up the table and get my head ready for it, then help Mom make a million sandwiches for the food stall.

My sister and her family will also be coming to Mom’s at some point Friday night, my sister will have a booth next to mine at the fair.  I think it will work out well, as she will be selling her knits and pottery, and I don’t know what else.  She and I are complete opposites in the colors we are drawn to, so I hope that between us, no matter what color hat you want, we have it.  🙂

There will be some visiting before bed. Little Niece E will do some entertaining, without a doubt.

In the middle of all that, I will do plenty of nervous knitting and probably some last minute display prep.

I will take photos of the booth, but don’t expect professional perfection – I am just not there yet.  I did remember to type up care instructions to give to folks, so I don’t have to say 1 million times “hand wash cold  don’t wring dry flat keep colors separate. ”  🙂

Lots of deep breathing is also on the list.

15 responses to “Friday before a craft fair

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck and enjoy!

  2. Remember to breathe, and remind yourself that you should take a moment in the middle of all the chaos to actually get in-touch with yourself and see how you’re actually enjoying this fabulous moment in your life. You’re making memories. It’s your ‘first’. So make sure you do get a photograph (especially a ‘before’ shot – so that you have a lasting photographic reminder for your memory of all the things you made and how your display looked before anything was bought) … and perhaps get mom and sis and yourself to each take photographs of each other and their tables so that you’re in the photograph too.

    You’re going to really enjoy this day. I remember my first day of ‘selling’ my stuff – and I had a ball of a time. Sadly the photographs went missing so I have nothing to look at which reminds me of my fabulous ‘first’, – and this is why I’m saying to you to get photographs not just taking them yourself, but take them of your mom and sis … and get them to take a photo of you too. (That way you’ll have at least one photo for sure!).

    Have a totally fabulous day. Can’t wait to hear all about it.
    Sending love ~ Cobs. x

  3. Is your booth inside or outside? My first fair to sell my wares was in Southern CA. I was doing wood burned pictures, boats, farm scenes, animals and several others. I had lots of fun just talking to people and picking up ideas from them. I didn’t sell much but, they were checking me out and bought another time. Since it so cold you have the perfect items. Good luck and sell lots.

  4. Almost exactly a year ago, I was in the same position you are now–and all my worrying paid off with a very good sale, and no major surprises or crises. I’m sure you’ll do great–make sure you have fun and smile!

  5. Craft fairs are fun. You are just the correct amount of nervous. Your first fair is always special. Good luck and have fun.

  6. Good luck!!!

  7. I did my first show 3 weeks ago and I had the same thoughts running through my mind as you do. It went well and tomorrow will be my third. Good luck!!

  8. Break a leg, girl.

  9. Have Fun! I had the exact same jitters before my first booth.

  10. How exciting – good luck!

  11. Can’t wait to hear how it went.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

