11/13   12 comments

I know, no Friday list. Again.

It has been an eventful week. Let me give you a clue: A just said to me “You quit your job on the 3 year anniversary of the day I broke my ankle – 11/13/11”

Yep, that’s right, I quit my job.

I tried hard not to. I tried to work through the burnout (that doesn’t work, right?) I tried to negotiate a long leave, but that really doesn’t work for the agency with my position. So, I quit. Sort of. Jan 2 is my last day as full-time in my current position. Jan 5 I start as a part-time employee, just doing the tax program. When April 15 comes, I think am “done” as they say around here. Then I will take some time to just rest, relax, refresh, recover. I hope at the end of that time, I know what is next. I had hoped that what was next was my job, but I know it might not be available when I am ready for it.

It feels fabulous. That means it is the right thing, right?

So. Friday – it was a good day. I picked Mom up early and we went to Portland to knit and lunch with sister C and little niece E, who had a half day of school. She is 8 now, and very excited to show me her new “round (circular) needle she got for her birthday, and the hat she is making. She was fascinated by my row counter, and luckily, I did not need to know what row I was on. I think I know a Christmas present… C and I talked about the craft fair that is this coming Saturday (in Owls Head, if you are around and want more info, let me know!) She will be selling pottery and hats, and these GREAT muffs she invented. I will be selling hats and jewelry and whatever else I finish up this week. NOT socks, can you believe it? Mom will be working the food booth, so it will be a family event, but we won’t really see each other, except that C and I will be in side by side booths, I hope.

Today is catch up on chores and things around town, and laundry at home. Sounds fun, right? I need to go get going on that stuff… I’ll catch up with you all later and show you what I have been knitting.

12 responses to “11/13

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on taking a step forward. The next right thing will show up. The craft fair sounds like it will be fun.

    • I hope so! I worry about the inventory, but as it is my first, I have nothing to base on. So I am going with what I have. Should be nice to spend the day with my sister, anyway! And I will post photos of her stuff, she has such an artist’s eye for color and shape, her pottery is beautiful (I think).

  2. Congratulations. If it feels right then it is the right thing to do. X

    • thanks! hopefully it isn’t just that it feels right but we will soon starve (well, actually it would take us a long time to starve, actually, as we aren’t small!)

  3. I agree with mollieandclaire – if it feels the right thing to do then it is.

  4. Congratulations! As one who took the leap from full time work to part time work earlier this year, you will love it! 🙂

    • I am sure I will love the work part, but not so sure about the money part. 🙂 or the whatever happens after 4/15 part. But it had to happen, it was costing too much to keep going as i was.

  5. How liberating for you! And I lived reading about your excited, newly knitting niece.

  6. Well, I’m proud of you! I know what a difficult process this has been for you. I know it was not the perfect outcome, either. But, in spite of the panic that I sometimes experience in my own life and have to have loving friends like you talk me through, I have an abiding trust in the universe to support me. I believe that for you too. This will be OK. It will be what it is meant to be for you. I love you and am here anytime you need an ear, a shoulder, a hug or pizza.

    • 🙂 thanks – I may take you up on that pizza someday when we are starving. I have to trust in the universe as well, knowing that sometimes how it takes care of me is not how I expect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

