Oooooweeeee!!!!!   6 comments

You may recall a couple of years ago, a coworker asked me to make her a sweater.  I gave her the yarn specifics, and she bought it.  Luckily, she understands about good yarn and icky yarn.  What she got was pretty good, and at the top of her budget.  I worked hard on that sweater, and she said she loved it but I never was sure as it isn’t a style she would wear to work.

Then I made her a hat and I never see it, but I know hats mess her hair. I knew she liked the hat, but I never knew if she really used it.

Turns out she does.  Just not to work.

Today she watched me knitting my socks in a meeting and asked me if I would make some for her? Same deal as before – she will pay for yarn.  I said absolutely yes, but warned her that the sock yarn I choose is expensive.  She said that is OK.

So I am off to search around the web to see what pretty yarn I can find that I will like working with that she can afford.  Then, once I get approval, I will order it and get her socks in my rotation.  The really good news? She wears shoes a couple sizes smaller than me, and has tiny little ankles.

I am so excited that she likes my things enough to ask for them!  This is a woman who dresses like a million bucks on thrift store finds. She knows quality when she sees it, and she appreciates good work. And she wants me to keep on knitting for her!

Ooooooooooweeeeeeeeeeee!

PS I wrote this Thursday but for some reason, it did not publish… still excited by it, so here you go!

Posted September 13, 2014 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about making

Tagged with ,

6 responses to “Oooooweeeee!!!!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How lovely she likes your stuff! It really is the best compliment, I feel from others, to get personal requests.

  2. Do I hear a potential side business developing here? Have needles will knit.

  3. That’s fabulous show she appreciates your knitting and wants good yarn.

  4. I know exactly how you feel Salpal. I think it comes from not knowing for sure if we’re making great things, but we enjoy doing what we’re doing so we just carry on. BUT … when someone suddenly comes and wants what we’re making then it totally blows our minds. I’m exactly the same.

    Well done on having such wonderful things that someone seeks you out and requests your bespoke knitwear! (Bespoke – that word adds a pound or twenty to a price! lol) ~ Cobs.x 😀

    • thanks, it does feel good! I don’t charge her for my work, she just buys the yarn. I figure I would be knitting anyway, and she hasn’t got a lot of money. But things for the craft fair are going to be priced so that I make a little something for my time. then we will see if they sell, right?

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

