I want to thank all the little people who made this possible   3 comments

As I don’t think I will ever win an Oscar, I guess I will use my acceptance speech here today – I am very happy to announce that Fiona at CursingandCrafting has nominated me for a Liebster award! According to her post, it is designed to highlight blogs with fewer than 200 followers (I definitely am in that category, although I have been picking up followers pretty steadily over the last few weeks!)

Here’s the thing – I have to give you 11 facts about me, answer Fiona’s questions, choose 11 blogs that I like that fit the category to nominate, and ask those bloggers to answer 11 questions for me, go let them know I nominated them (no tag backs!). So, here goes.

11 facts:
1.) I live in rural Maine.
2.) I like to do handwork of all types.
3.) I would rather pay more to buy from a locally-owned store than shop at a national or international conglomerate.
4.) I LOVE to swim – fresh and salt water and pool, they are all good.
5.) I love to sail.
6.) I am a huge (and this year happy) University of Connecticut women’s basketball fan.
7.) I love to garden but you can’t tell that from my yard.
8.) I hope to finish painting the interior of our house someday. 🙂
9.) I am NEVER without my knitting.
10.) I love to play brain games on Nintendo DS.
11.) I’m getting LEGALLY married to my long time partner on May 19. And we can’t thank the voters of Maine enough for making it possible.

My answers to Fiona’s questions:
1.What is your favorite craft?
That is really hard to say – it is a tie between card making and knitting.

2.Why did you start crafting?
I don’t remember starting, really, but I do remember spending time with Gram B. as a little girl, and having her teach me various things – embroidery, sewing, arts and crafts projects. She always had something artistic going on, and Ma N. always was knitting something or painting. Even though my Mom didn’t have time to do that kind of thing when I was a kid, I spent enough time with those two grandmothers to get an early founding in all things crafty.

3.Do you want to make your crafting into a career?
I WOULD love to get paid to do this, somehow. Still haven’t figured out how to make it happen, though.

4.What project are you most proud of?
Another tough question! I guess I would have to say the first lace shawl I knit – it took so long, and is a work of perseverance if nothing else! But I also remember how proud I was when I actually finished my first sweater. It was in the 80’s, and had big puffy sleeves, and lace,and was NOT flattering at all, but it was finished, and I could wear it – although I don’t recall doing so more than once. I learned lots of lessons with that sweater – that I CAN finish things, that fiber quality matters, and that big puffy sleeves are not my most flattering look. 🙂

5.What’s your favorite crafting blog?
Not sure I have a favorite, although I am always interested in the teaching of the sweaty knitter, and the ladies at watch out world and not your average crochet keep me always thinking. And of course, http://www.shemakeshats.com inspires me every day.

6.Favorite film?
Most recently, it is LIncoln, although, as I wrote about, I thought it should have ended with him leaving for the theater. Before that, and probably again someday, it is anything clever with Cary Grant.

7.What country would you most like to visit?
There isn’t just one – I have always wanted to go to Greece, and I want to go back to Scotland and Austria. Then there is New Zealand…

8.What’s your dream job?
One where I get to be creative and organized, and have plenty of quiet time interspersed with interacting with people. One that doesn’t have a lot of meetings or strife or stress. It might be retired, crafting and selling the things that I make. 🙂

9.Do you have any pets?
I do – 2 cats, Allie Cat and Zumba. They were a year old on 3/2/13, and will have had them a year on 6/2/13. They are the light of our lives.

10.Favorite place to craft?
In my craft room (sewing and paper crafts) or on the couch in the living room (knitting, etc)

11.What’s your favorite crafting website?
Don’t really look at a lot of these – I guess it would be ravelry, or the websites of some of my favorite yarn stores. I also like the Hero Arts website because they have their catalog as a pdf so I can drool over it.

My 11 questions:

1.) Why do you blog?
2.) What in your life really excites you right now?
3.) If you weren’t afraid of anything, what would you do tomorrow?
4.) Who inspires you?
5.) Who do you want to inspire?
6.) What were you doing right before you started answering these questions?
7.) Favorite flavor ice cream?
8.) Best book you ever read?
9.) What made it best?
10.) Favorite place on earth?
11.) Best gift you ever got?

My 11 nominees? (as Fiona said in her blog, if you have more that 200 followers or have done this before, ignore this – or if you want to chime in, please do.)

1.) My Meandering Trail
2.) Sweaty Knitter
3.) The Blog of the Knitted Fog
4.) Watch Out World
5.) Not Your Average Crochet
6.) (Cheating here) SarahJane Lives and Clothilda JamCracker
7.) Weekend Knitter Blog
8.) UK desperate housewife in the US
9.) Live love lake
10.) B and B build a life
11.) At home with the Pizza Thief

This is hard work. 11 is too many facts to think of, too many questions to think of, and not enough nominations for all the great blogs I follow! But I thank you, Fiona, for the nomination, and for liking my blog this much. I am interested to see what the response is from my nominees.

Posted April 14, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about, What I love

3 responses to “I want to thank all the little people who made this possible

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved reading your answers, thanks! Also congratulations to you and your partner on your up coming wedding, that’s awesome! 🙂

    p.s that sweater with puffy sleeves sounds amazing!! 😉

    • You are welcome, Fiona. And thanks on the congrats – we are quite excited to be able to finally take this step.

      The puffy sleeved sweater WAS amazing – and bright yellow to boot. If I ever come across the pattern, I will post it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award – what? | B & B Build A Life

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

