Hey! That was mean!   22 comments

So last night I get home, decide it is nice enough to do my one hour of gardening and then have a nice swim.

Got all set, went out and pulled weeds and shoveled dirt and  finished off an area that took three bags of mulch to cover.  Took more than an hour, and worked up a good healthy sweat (read: was drenched.) Looked at what is left and think it is really do-able by the weekend.

Cleaned up the gardening mess and headed for the pool.

CRACK!

No matter how foolish I am for a nice swim, I know not to go anywhere near the water when I hear thunder.

So, I went in the house and worked on the secret fiber project instead.

While I was glad to work on that project, I was very disappointed to not get my cooling, relaxing swim.

I was also disappointed to not get any rain.  Just rumbling thunder.

That was mean, Mother Nature.  I did the work, I should get the reward.

 

 

Posted July 28, 2017 by salpal1 in how I spent my day

Tagged with ,

22 responses to “Hey! That was mean!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw, that was mean of Mother Nature. We were expecting storms all day yesterday, but nothing. I do hope that today is a beautiful one for you and that you get to get that swim. You definitely earned it.

  2. Next time I suggest you swim first and work after;)

  3. 😦

    • Ok … I’m going to say it loud and proud … but as your blogging friend I will understand if you don’t comment on my next project.

      …… …… …… . . . .
      . . . . I’m laughing like a drain here!

      I’ve never seen you pout before, and the image I have inside my tiny brain cell is the most funny thing I’ve seen in days.

      Aww … love you OOoooooodles Salpal. You are a total tonic ~ Cobs. x

  4. That was nasty of Mother Nature. We have had a lot of that around here: thunder and no rain.

    • It’s not right. If it must thunder, then we should get a humdinger of a storm with lightening and deluges and then a clear sky so I can swim, lol.

  5. Shame. I’m with you though, swim first and the tidying wouldn’t have happened ;-(

    • Today I made up for it – I started working int h last bit of garden, but it was earlier than normal, and it was in direct sun,which I am supposed to avoid, so I did very little, then went around back and cleaned the pool and soaked for a few minutes. Still in the dun, but cooler, and I wore my long sleeved bathing shirt and a hat. So once my legs were in the water, I felt like I was behaving as far as ultraviolet light goes. And once I was wet and cool, I went back indoors. I will work on the gardening tomorrow evening when that side of the house is in the shade.

      • Excellent. And when you’ve finished yours, if you fancy a holiday in Dartmoor I’ve plenty of weeds and very little sun 🙂

        • You know, I would fancy a holiday in Dartmoor, and would love to help you with your weeding for maybe half an hour. I truly don’t like weeding, but it would be fun to do with someone else, lol. Then could we go splashing in a brook someplace?

  6. I’m afraid Mother Nature cares not for our plans! I could provide 100 examples of that, and I’m sure you could, too!

  7. I think Mother Nature was testing you. 🙂 Next time, take a quick dip, in and out.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

