Randomness   15 comments

I am afraid this will be a rambling post with not too many photos.

It was a good weekend, it didn’t go exactly as planned, but it was OK.  Saturday morning instead of doing some gardening and swimming in the pool before knitting, we went up to Orrington to visit my SIL, just home from the hospital with a knee replacement.  She put it off YEARS longer than I would have, but it went amazingly well, and she is happily ensconced on the couch, with rocker nearby for exercising. Husband is doing stellar nursing work.  He ran out to the store while we were there, I think glad for the respite, lol.

Came back in time to grab some early lunch and then pick up my new neighbor and head off to knitting for the afternoon at Whorls and Purls.  I actually brought the spinning wheel – traveler’s first trip in the car.  She fits neatly in the back seat of the Prius – yea!  Actually, the Prius holds lots more than one might think.  It is like Mary Poppins bag.  Way bigger inside than out.

A and I grabbed some fried shrimp to go for supper and had a quiet night indoors.

Sunday I woke up full of energy, AT LAST feeling better (maybe fried shrimp cures tummy viruses?) and did some early spinning, then layered newspaper and mulch over the garden that has nothing planted in it this year, so it is ready for next year.  I really hope the whole newspaper mulch thing works for killing weeds, if it does, I am going to be THRILLED and use it all over the yard, lol.

Then I ate a delicious breakfast A cooked for me before I headed out to return bottles, go to the dump, and the hardware store (for more mulch, lol) got home, unloaded all of that stuff, spread a last bag over the garden in back, and headed inside for a rest.  After that, the day got much more like you would expect from me, lol.  I knitted and spun while I waited for the sun to move over to make some shade in the yard.  Then I did some watering, jumped in the pool for a quick swim and fishing out all the tree bits that had landed in there this week.  It was a WEEK of no pool for me.  So very glad I am able to go in it now as it is supposed to be hot this week.

That was followed by some weed pulling while I drip dried, and then a relaxing evening watching Turn with A. Oh, that Simcoe gives me the creeps.  🙂

I started my list for the trip to Wisconsin.

It is hysterical!  I was worried I would forget some important thing I promised to bring, so I started jotting things down. After all, we leave in 49 days!  So my list starts with “Crock Pot.  Waffle Iron.” and progresses through some secret stuff to “knitting projects: Socks.  Sweater. Shawl.” to “Backpack. Road trip food.  Vitamins.”  before it ever gets near anything like, say clothes.  🙂

I have to get everything organized carefully since we will be on the road for three days (2 nights), then there for 5 days (4 nights) and then on the road again, probably for 4-5 days and 3-4 nights.  I don’t want to unload everything at each hotel stop, so going out I want to have a smaller bag with travel items, and then I will reorganize before we leave Wisconsin.

Beyond going for the reason to be there – Ravelry meet up and Wisconsin Sheep and Wool festival, on the way home, Mom and I are doing a few things – we are meeting up with some old school friends of hers in Chicago on Sunday, and we plan to stop an extra day at Niagara Falls (Monday night, Tuesday?) before making a mad dash race for home.  Which might be a two day mad dash, depending on how we feel, and how anxious we are to be through with the car and driving. Or how bad traffic in New England is.

I am SO excited to be doing this – I have not done a big road trip like this in a very long time, and one without my wonderful A doing all the driving?  Not in about 15 years.  Heading west, we plan to go through Canada, then cut across Michigan, and take the ferry across Lake Michigan.  Coming home, because of the Chicago lunch, we will head south, and zip across Indiana and  Ohio, sticking close to the lakes. From Buffalo, we will do some more zipping across New York – and yes, I know how darned long that will take, Thank goodness for Route 90. It may be boring, but it will get us back to New England.  It is a lot of driving, and I hope everyone else stays off the road while we do this.  🙂

A just looks at me like I am crazy and says she is glad to not be going, she will stay home and tend the fire, lol.  Or play with the cats. Ort help her sister with projects in her new house.  We will each have fun, but I will buy yarn!

And speaking of yarn – I finished all but the heel of one blue striped sock – that heel will wait for the other sock to get to the same place, so that I can make them match.  And I am making very good progress on the hand knit vest – might finish it up some time this week. Spinning update – I have refilled two of the three bobbins, and will work on the third one this week.  Hope to be plying again by the weekend. Plus I am plotting some secret yarn related things which I hope to begin work on.  I will have to wait to share them with you, but they are going to be so fun and exciting!

 

See, random.  No photos.  Maybe I will be better about getting some for you this week.  🙂

 

 

15 responses to “Randomness

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You can’t stay a going away list too early or have too many versions!

  2. Don’t forget to put your passport on the list:)
    It sounds like you had a great weekend! The fried shrimp was a good test to make sure that you’re all better:)
    Are you lucky enough to have a knitting neighbor? I have one and it’s fabulous:)

  3. Glad your SIL is healing well. What a road trip you have coming up. Safe travels to you.

  4. 49 Days?!? ONLY?!? To plan and do your best to be ready for anything, not waste a moment, take it all in?!? You are better at this gig than I – LOL – – Tempted to write me own rambling post – but late, full week ahead and maybe I will, or maybe I’ll jut revel in reading up on ‘what’s doin” with my community here – this is what “Crap! Did I sign up and say yes, to all this stuff, 6 months ago?” LOL
    Hope you have a wonderful time on your road trip! 🙂

    • Hello, friend! Glad to see you here. This trip has been in the planning for months now. I am so looking forward to meeting a dozen online friends all at once! Even if it rains it will be fun. 😜 Sorry you have such a crazy week, but I feel sure the crazy busy part will have good repercussions and you will be glad you did it.

  5. Sounds like you have everything under control and it will be fun. Lots of driving. Do you have a playlist you take with you in the car?

    • You know, I hadn’t; really thought about a play list. I will bring a few cd’s (how old fashioned of me!) and I will have Mom to talk to. We will get through it, lol.

  6. You bounced back from that virus with a vengeance! So good to hear you sounding like yourself again.

  7. (playing catch-up because real life was demanding attention. How dare it!)

    I read this post and felt exhausted. I obviously went (inside my head) on this journey, following your route, and doing the things you said you were planning. I even packed the bags for this jaunt.

    So … after sitting in my comfy chair here, and reading your plans … if I feel worn out, then you, my fabulous friend, are going to need a holiday to get over your holiday!!!
    LOL.

    GREAT post Salpal. Don’t forget to take photos!
    Sending oodles of squidges ~ Cobs. x

    PS … Drive safely! Better to get there a little later, than end up in a ‘pickle’ of some sort. ~ C. x

    • lol – We will drive safely, no worries. Can’t be late as the last leg is a boat ride and we have reservations! BUT I made them for the morning, so we arrive the night before and sleep right near the boat. I figure that gives us a whole night of wiggle room.

  8. Sounds like it will be a fun trip with lots to do. I am also planning a trip to Wisconsin next month. So excited. I hope your trip is safe and wonderful. Can’t wait to hear about the fiber festival and what you bring home with you 😉

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

