Friday list!   12 comments

If you have been following me for a long time, you know I used to work four days a week, and Fridays were my day to be home or out and about on my own.  I used to make such lovely long lists of things I wanted to accomplish.  And sometimes, I was successful!  But then came changes at work, and my schedule got shifted back to the traditional 5 days a week.  No more Friday lists.

This week, however, I am going to be home, so thought I would reprise the Friday list.  I know I am excited! I bet you are, too.  😉

 

Here goes:

Wait for the Cable Guy, the reason I am home and not at work.  He’s due between 8-9 and his work will take about an hour, so technically, I could then go to work, but I decided to take the whole day. because I can.  It is WICKED slow at work. Plus, you know cable guys’ reputations.  🙂  We are SO excited to be getting a cable bundle for TV, internet, and telephone, instead of paying the earth for satellite TV and internet, and traditional land line phone.  Here’s hoping it all lives up to its billing. We will save almost $100 a month with this deal, and I see that as a big plus.

If the weather cooperates (cool, dry, sunshine, and a light breeze would be ideal) I want to get out into the yard and do some trimming and weeding, and maybe plant a plant or something.

Ditto on the weather, I would follow that work with a  dip in the pool, and what I hope is the last good scrubbing it will need. I didn’t get into it last weekend, it was too chilly and showery.  I scrubbed what I could reach, but that isn’t much and the angle isn’t right for a good scrubbing.

Clean the screened porch and the front porch and get them ready for summer.  I understand it is coming, the teasing with a warm day here and there will stop soon, and all days will be warm and lovely. It would be nice to have the snow shovels, sand, and salt stowed away when that happens.

Make a run to the dump with yard trash and house trash.

Get the groceries.

Go to the PO when it is actually open and I can speak to a person.

Take photos of my knitting to show you – I have really made progress on things, I think a photo will prove it. To you and to me.

Start the weekend’s laundry.

 

It’s an ambitious list, if I get to half of it I will be pleased.  The sitting and knitting will come while waiting for the Cable Guy, and while waiting and watching him work.  I think workmen love that, when the homeowner pulls up a chair and watches their every move, don’t you?

I am sort of thinking of doing a really quick bulky spin this week as well – I have some fiber that I have to spin outside (it sheds), and I know I can do it like lightening.  But I should be concentrating on the knitting for the next couple of weeks.  So torn.  🙂

That’s my day!  I will check back in later and let you know how I did.  And maybe have some photos to share.

 

 

12 responses to “Friday list!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jeez louise–that’s a long list! But, if you get it all done today, think of the free time you’ll have the rest of the weekend! Wheeeee!

  2. I’m now picturing you, knitting and keeping a close eye on the cable guy ^^
    We’ve got 2 boiler bods here today, so I’ve been lounging on the sofa, feet up, cross stitching as they keep busy.

  3. That is an ambitious list! I hope the cable guy arrives early and you get a quick start. I see free time on the weekend if you complete your list today:)

  4. Good luck! If you get half done, you should be pleased.

    In our old house we often had plumbing problems. And Miss Butterfly would just HAVE to be in that bathroom WITH the plumber watching his every move. He was always gracious about it but I was always worried she was annoying him. He would say “No no, I have young kids at home.” A couple years after the first time she did this, he moved in behind our house. Turns out he had 8 kids. 8. So…yeah…one curious child wasn’t going to bother him too much at all.

  5. Oh yes, workmen really love when we sit or stand there watching their every move. I consider it pay back for me having to call them in the first place. I love your to-do list. I am sitting here reading it while wondering if I have the mental and emotional capacity to go to the food store today and buy some bananas.

    • Lol he was a good sport, he needed me to log in and register for stuff so he chatted with me while he worked. He was quick and efficient and now it all works fine. I swear the TV picture is clearer than it was with Dish…

      Yes, you can handle getting bananas. And walk up every aisle, get your steps in for the day so you can relax with sticks, string and no guilt when you get home.

  6. I’m sure you’ll get a lot done and I’m sure the cable guy comes on time. When we had installation guys come here, they were really good about being on time and some came earlier and called to ask if they could come in then.

Leave a Reply

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

