Summer for more than one day!!!   26 comments

 

Even though I normally hate the heat, today I love it.  It finally feels like summer!  I did some very small yard chores and spent a good long time scrubbing the pool (and it is looking almost perfect as a result. I think one more bout of scrubbing will do it.)

I had a good birthday supper with A, Mom, and B on Friday night, and Saturday at Whorls and Purls they had a combo birthday and “hey we missed each other” gathering which had yummy food and loads of laughing and chatting and knitting.

And all weekend I have been interspersing knitting with spinning. 🙂  I want to master this wheel before July when I begin my unofficial Tour de Fleece with my spinning friends at Whorls and Purls and also the Friends of Knitting Sarah over on Ravelry.

IMG_1763

I filled two bobbins with singles of Spring Queen and Very Berry and pled them together.  I have more of each to spin, but I have about 140 yards of a nice thick worsted weight drying in the laundry room.  Isn’t it pretty?

IMG_1766

A and I stopped at our favorite local take-out place for lunch today – Crosby’s –  where I had a lovely crabmeat roll and a chocolate shake to end my birthday food weekend.  Tomorrow I start a whole 30 month.  It is hard but it works, so I am ready for it.  (she said, munching on M and Ms)

Nothing much else is new – knitting projects are plodding along.  The green sweater (top down) is at last down past the sleeve separation, so it will feel like it is going faster.  The handspun vest (bottom up) is above the waist but not yet to the armholes.  Socks are moving along, I am ready to turn a heel on the second sock.  And the Moon and sky shawl is near the end of the second lace section.  It’s all good but I have no photos to share today.  🙂

26 responses to “Summer for more than one day!!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your yarn is gorgeous! Your wheel is a beauty:)
    There is nothing better than birthday weekend!

  2. I like you in that checkered shirt. Happy birthday. The crab roll sounds delicious!

    • Thanks, Stefanie! We won’t talk about the need to wear a long sleeved short topped with a flannel shirt IN JUNE! The weather got better the next day. Today is a sandal day. 🙂

  3. belated happy birthday. Sounds like you had a great weekend ^^

  4. So glad you had a happy birthday weekend. And the crabroll sounds very tasty. 🙂
    Love the yarn you spun, it will knit up beautifully.
    Enjoy the new week. 🙂

    • I did enjoy that crabmeat roll. Next one is mid-July. I already told A where we will go for that one – our absolutely favorite, almost local take out place – different from our favorite local one. 🙂

      I think the yarn will work out well, and I will spin up the rest of the yarn this week.

  5. Happy belated birthday! Sounds like you had a fun weekend.
    That berry yarn is luscious and in my favorite color family. I have quite a bit of fleece to spin but am on hold until I finish my Metalouse shawl. I’m at the point where the rows are so long it seems to take forever to do a row.
    The new wheel is lovely as well. I hope you love it!

  6. Happy birthday! Sunshine and summertime are both a delightful gift to celebrate your special day. Wonderful photo of you with your spinning wheel. You look so happy. Your yarn mix colors are beautiful. You’ve certainly got a gift for spinning.

  7. How fun, to see a photo of you sitting at that wheel and looking so happy!

  8. A belated but very enthusiastic happy birthday! Love the picture of you and your wheel. You look wonderful and in your element. The spun yarn is fantastic. A few hot humid days and I am ready for Autumn and Winter again. I am such a fan of cold weather. I think in another life I might have been a penguin.

    • Thank you! I am so pleased with the wheel, spinning is so much easier with the right tools. Like everything, right? I hear you about autumn and winter – I could use a bit more summer before that, but not the 90 degree variety. A penguin? You always make me laugh. 🙂

  9. Happy belated birthday! Your spun yarn is 😍.

  10. Happy Birthday! I think you are already and expert spinner. Your yarns always look so beautiful! Love the Spring Queen and Very Berry = Queen Berry! Such pretty colors. Can’t wait to see what you create with it. Whatever it is, it will be Regal 😉

    • lol – thank you! Not sure yet what it will be, but I will keep regal in mind, lol. Love the name you came up with, I will go rename that project on Ravelry!

  11. I’m fascinated by spinning, I never saw anyone do it. Those colours are beautiful. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

