We are off on an adventure   27 comments

The first of several this summer – yeah!

Mom graduated from high school in 1957.  She had plans to attend her 60th reunion with her old roommate, but then plans changed.  Mom decided not to go if her roommate couldn’t.  Too long a trip.  So of course, I offered to drive her, and this weekend, we are headed off to Poughkeepsie NY.

While she spends the day remembering old friends and crazy times, I plan to meet IN PERSON a blogger who’s become a friend, Slipped Stitches.  I can’t wait to get to put a real person with the imaginary one in my mind.

But before we get to that on Saturday, Mom and I have decided to break up the drive on Friday by stopping in Northampton, Massachusetts for lunch.  And um, well, you know, going to WEBS.  In person. The real store.  I have wanted to do this for years, and I am pumped.  I want to touch all the yarn.  It is the one thing I hate about buying yarn on the internet – if I haven’t seen it elsewhere, I have no idea what I am buying.  So I plan to do a  lot of touching, and perhaps a tiny bit of buying.  A conceded that I have been exceptionally good in the yarn buying department these last several months, and we worked out a budget we can both live with.  Woot Woot!

I am looking forward to this trip.  I am sure to have lots to share with you when I return on Sunday.  And I think you will care more about it than A will.  🙂  She is happy to be staying home playing with cats, I think.

And guess what?  Next weekend, another adventure – but more on that later.

 

 

27 responses to “We are off on an adventure

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds like a fabulous weekend! Just remember to breath when you walk into the warehouse at Webs. It is overwhelming!

  2. This sounds so much fun. Safe travels to you both.

  3. Webs is wonderful! I stopped there for the first time a few years ago on a return trip from visiting my nephew at Vassar College in Poughkeepsie. I felt like I was at the Mecca of yarndom! The grampa’s attic/warehouse is huge, but of course I was looking for the Madelinetosh in the main store. It is definitely worth the trip. I think next weekend is their big tent sale.
    If you have time on your return trip, the NH sheep and wool festival goes through Sunday in Deerfield NH. I’m heading up Saturday mainly for fiber.

    Hope you and your mother have a great time!

    • thanks! We had a great time (and cruised past the Vassar turn, though it was tempting to go see it, several of my foremothers attended there) and Webs was great – I too was searching for Madeline Tosh, but spent loads of time and a bit of cash in the warehouse. Pretty amazing! We did not hit NH on the way home, it was a long day so we just flew for home. Did you find some goodies?

  4. I graduated in 1958 so your Mom is close to my age. I know you will have a great time and may learn some new things about your Mom that you never knew. Keep an eye on the weather and travel safely.

  5. Wonderful. I will look forward to seeing and reading all about your adventure. Take care and have fun!!

  6. Have a wonderful adventure with your Mum and enjoy your yarn shopping. Sounds like a perfect weekend.

  7. have fun!!

  8. Ooooh, WEBS! The one time we were anther near there, it was closed! Don’t plan to go on Sunday! Have fun!

  9. sounds like a fun road-trip in store!

  10. Have a wonderful trip. Very sweet of you to take your Mom to her reunion. Safe travels and I look forward to hearing all about this WEBS you speak of.

  11. Most Excellent! Have a wonderful adventure. Look forward to seeing lots of pics 🙂

  12. Sounds like a wonderful road trip. WEBS will not disappoint. The first time I went, 2 1/2 hours passed in an instant. Fortunately, I’d left my wallet in the car to force myself into careful purchasing!

    • Webs was wonderful, Northampton not so much! It was UMASS Commencement weekend – driving was a nightmare. I behaved as far as purchases went, but I took photos of the hang tags on every Valley Brand Yarn I liked the feel of, so my phone is FULL of hang tag photos, lol. Future shopping spree!

  13. Webs! You lucky, lucky person. After we say hello in person I want to see the stash from Webs. Looking forward to meeting you.

    slippedstitches
    • lol it’s a small stash, I am still behaving myself with yarn purchases. And it was so fun to meet you and explore a new yarn store that you can get to now and then!

  14. Wishing you a wonderful trip. It sounds like a fun adventure. 🙂

  15. My SIL went there once. She found it overwhelming. She said she would not have bought so much if my brother weren’t with her. He’s got that creative gene, too.

    • I can se how it can be overwhelming. I think it is a good idea to go with a mission, even if that mission is to buy every color of sock yarn they have. 🙂 But going with no plan could make you wind up buying everything or nothing. 🙂 I find if I go with a list, it keeps me focused. I might still have some impulse purchases, but I will also get what I came for.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

