Pet Peeve: Reply all   23 comments

My opinion:

When one person writes an email inviting 30 or 40 people to provide feedback, it would be entirely acceptable for those people to provide the feedback directly to the author by hitting “reply” and let the author decide if they want to compile the responses and share them with the original group.

It is entirely unnecessary for each of those people to use “Reply All” to say something like

“looks good!”

or

“I would reword the second sentence of the 14th paragraph to eliminate the word “and””

thus clogging up the in-boxes of everyone concerned.

 

You would be amazed at how many of my coworkers do this.

I do not need to know if they will be at a certain meeting or if they have submitted all their receipts for the month to Finance.

It’s just thoughtless in my mind.  Nine times out of ten, it is unneeded.  And thus, that tenth time, I am likely to miss the important thing that is being shared with the group.

 

Done venting. Thanks for listening.

 

 

 

 

Posted March 15, 2017 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with

23 responses to “Pet Peeve: Reply all

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really couldn’t like this more. We have a campus wide email list in which those involved in research might email the entire campus in order to find lab supplies they’ve run out of, or other requests to this extent. Those emails are bad enough, but when you get an email like “Does any lab on campus have X media” and then multiple people across campus reply all with the answer “no.” I get so full of white hot rage.

  2. Look! You’re using common sense. They’ll never get it:)

  3. haha, i deactivated the “reply all” which is usually set up as default in the mail client…

  4. I know!! Happens here all the time.
    The “reply all” button should be disabled on all systems, and you can only “reply all” if you go a very long route to get to get send option. 🙂

  5. My favorite is when somebody accidentally hits “reply all” and then sends a personal message. We had a husband/wife pair on campus where the wife sent, by mistake, a pretty racy message to her husband, and we all go to read it!

  6. The minute I open a “group message’, I feel panic. My goal this winter was to write more letters, “reply all” in the little space I occupy ( here in the computer world) feels like going in the other direction.

  7. Totally agree with you on this one. I feel your pain.

  8. I know. Some people just don’t switch their brains on. Hope the venting helped.

  9. The reply all option should come up with a warning box saying “do you really want to do this” before sending. After seeing a manager get fired for hitting reply all and making crude remarks about a person referenced in the email whom he thought was only going to the sender broke the cycle at my job several years ago.

  10. Now that I’m engaging in work that includes others than just meself, at the library, I’m seeing more of this – sometimes, it’s good, as the info ‘replied’ rather keeps the whole group informed of evolving plans – Other times, my inner Life Narrator runs rather along the lines of, “Um…okey-dokey – did you hit the wrong “choice of reply”? Are you aware there is a Reply AND a Reply to All option available? Are you in a hurry? Are you down and just need some extra love and support via a, “good for you! congrats on doing/thinking/comin’ up with that idea? WHAT?!? WTFrick IS IT?!?!?

    Thus, I usually just ignore and file away, unless specifically asked a question – – LOL

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

