A rare Friday list   20 comments

I know you have missed these almost as much as I have missed having Fridays off from work. 😀This week was a bit unusual at work, with late meetings, and a fundraising event this Sunday. So, to keep my hours to 40, I am able to stay home today.

What will I do with myself you ask? Here goes:

I am doing a bit of spinning this morning, working on filling that third bobbin.

Have to go out and get a haircut, long over due. While I’m out, I’ll go to the PO, and maybe, if I am feeling adventurous, the dump. We’ll see about that last one.

Back at home, there is always laundry to get started, a few dishes and some general tidying to do.

Then knitting. There are some photos I need to take for you, if the weather cooperates. And I dug some yarn out of the stash for a sweater, so I will be working on a swatch and a plan for that. And winding lots of yarn.  The yarn is Briggs and Little Heritage, picked up many years ago in New Brunswick. The color labels say “dark gray heather” “medium gray” and “light gray.”

I get the latter two, but the first looks very green to me. It looks nice with the grays, though, which is all that counts.

I even found the pattern I was going to make originally – a simple yoked sweater with colorwork in the yoke and at the bottom of the sweater. It is pretty, but I think I want a cardigan, and I don’t want a round yoke.  I dove down the Ravelry rabbit hole for a while, and when I was done with that, I decided I want to make my standard raglan top down sweater, with stripes. I toyed with the idea of making a turtleneck sweater I have made before, but I realized that the one I have is almost the same color. Oops! So, I dug out the old pattern, an ancient Candide one. This is my second copy, pretty worn out, and it cost a dollar. I wonder if it is still available, and how much it costs these days? It might be time for a new one.

Anyway… I also will work on the blue sock, which is getting closer to done – working on the leg. My goal is to get it done by Wednesday, then cast on the next pair, which will be knit with the Garden Center yarn I spun with an opposing ply, can’t wait to try that! Which reminds me, i might cake that today.

That’s really all I have planned for the day – not a lot but that leaves me loads of time for that knitting and spinning. And thinking about yet another sweater…that turtleneck still seems like a good idea, I wonder what other yarn I have in my stash? Add that to the list – more stash diving!

 

 

20 responses to “A rare Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a great day! I miss having to go to the dump. We had to when I was a kid.

    • lol I would not miss it… it’s not bad this time of year, but in the summer, it is nasty, and we should go twice a week, but often can’t do more than once.

  2. I am sure you will have no problem finding fun things to with your day off. Don’t let all that “tidying up” get in the way, though. Those things have a way of snowballing 😉

    • lol I did OK – one load of laundry done, the bathroom floor done, the dishes done… a side trip to the bookstore with a new knitting book coming home with me, and the rest of the day was lost. 🙂

  3. I’ve got some Briggs & Little Heritage in medium gray on my needles right now! That yarn is really nice to work with. Have a good Friday! I’m hoping I get to stop into a yarn shop this afternoon, but I don’t know why. It’s not like I need more yarn or another project, but looking can’t hurt 🙂

    • Pretty funny, you aren’t the only reader using Briggs and Little right now. I have changed my mind 50 times about this sweater, bought a new book and everything, but think I am going with some stripes. Maybe. Think I have decided on v neck, set in sleeves. But where to put the stripes?

  4. I hope you have a most enjoyable day!

  5. It must be the time of year, I’m working with Briggs & little yarn too :). Blue heather in Heritage. Happy knitting. !
    Izz

  6. Your day sounds like so many of mine–a little of this, a little of that, progress on a lot of different projects. That seems to make me happier than spending the whole day on one thing . . . but some of the projects take FOREVER to finish!

  7. Enjoy all your activities.

  8. Hope you had fun and didn’t end up having to go to the dump. That’s definitely a job I delegate to hubby – although does seem to enjoy it, so I’m not being too mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

