Where does the time go?   16 comments

Vacation went quickly, but this week is going even faster.  Next week is all tax training, so this week is prepping for that, and trying to get all my “regular” work done.  Yikes!  I’ll take the computer and everything home today in case the “BIG NOR’EASTER” actually is as advertised, a big nor’easter.

This weekend will be a strange combo of finishing up the tax training prep (including passing the test!) and knitting.  Saturday is Whorls and Purls at the Purple Fleece, and then Sunday I am going to go off knitting with a new neighbor and some other “ravellers” whom I have never met in person – should be interesting.  I SHOULD have some finished objects to share with you after all of that!

Mom gave me some spinning books for Christmas, and I am slowly absorbing them.  Haven’t spun in a few days – the merino/nylon blend that I want to make into three ply sock yarn was giving me trouble – or the wheel was or something, so I am taking a couple of days off from spinning to see if I can sort that out.  I did a lot of spinning last week, and maybe I just was trying too hard. I’ll come back to it this weekend, maybe Saturday morning if I get up early.  That is my best spinning time.

Because of the impending winter weather doom and my having knitting commitments this weekend, A made one of her famous deals.  If I would do the grocery shopping before the storm, she would do all the other errands and laundry this weekend.  She knows I hate grocery shopping, so she always makes a really sweet deal to get me to do it.  I took her up on that deal and did the grocery shopping last night.  And I cleaned the bathroom this morning, so technically my chores are done!  Of course, there is still Christmas clutter to clear up, and a few other chores around the house that I might throw in to be a good doobie.  But then again…. I really want to finish my sweater before the end of the year…

The other thing I want to do before the end of the year is lose about 3.5 pounds.  If I can do that, I will have lost 30 pounds since October 3 when I started following the Whole 30 plan.  It seemed like a good goal until I ate what I wanted on vacation.  Now it will be a stretch. But I think I can do it if I am REALLY good.  Hold me accountable, please.  🙂

So as you might gather, life is chugging along as usual, everything simple and mundane, things are getting done.  No photos today, no drama, just living a quiet life, and so grateful that it is so.  It seems 2016 was a really horrible year if you happened to be a celebrity (my heart does ache for the Reynolds/Fisher clan) and for big world events, there is some strange juju going on, but here in my little world, all is calm, all is bright.  As it should be this time of year.

 

 

 

16 responses to “Where does the time go?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Time just flies! Good luck with the sweater and the weight loss. We’ll be hitting the Whole 30 again after the New Years and when some of the Christmas food junk is gone.

  2. You are so lucky if you get a nor’easter. I am ready for one. I am out of a computer and am borrowing a friend’s at the moment, but can’ t really post. My mother-in-law passed away Christmas day. The shower in my bath is broken and on and on the list goes. 2016 was a bad year, but I can’t say I am looking forward to 2017 because you-know-who will be in office. I despise him so I refuse to write his name. Sigh. Have a good new year.

    • So sorry to hear about your mother-in-law – please give the skipper a hug from me. As for the rest – 2016 was pretty grim and I am hopeful that someone somewhere does something to make 2017 better. He who shall not be named might decide that this is just too much work and quit. ( I am dreaming, I know). Put your head down and keep knitting.

  3. I hope the storm isn’t too bad for you. Grocery shopping can be such a chore; I understand as I always make the big, Costco trip. I went twice in one week because the household goods wouldn’t fit on my cart and we needed food first.

    • OMG I could not stand that! We don’t do the big box stores, just a regular supermarket is bad enough – especially the night before a storm (which, so far is tons of rain, yeah!)

  4. The storm never happened here–did it get to you? I almost wish we had gotten some of it, as an excuse to hunker down and go nowhere! Good luck with that 3.5 pounds–but don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t quite reach it–2017 is a new start!

    • We definitely got a storm, but not a blizzard. The storm came to close to us, so the warm air made it rain a lot during the day and evening yesterday. About 4-5 inches of VERY wet snow in the end. Loads of snow (a couple of feet) in the western and northern sections, and we all have a very windy day today. Lots of power out around, but not at work nor at home, so aside from a slippery commute today, we got off pretty easy. Which is good, as I have a ton of work to get through before Monday. 🙂 And thanks for the good wishes and practical thinking on the 3.5 pounds, I will hang in there and not get too crazy about it. And I will NOT be on a diet this weekend. 🙂

  5. The Raveler meetup sounds like a great idea and a way to meet new “Fiber friends”. Can’t wait to hear how it goes! I find it difficult to find friends who are interested in going to Fiber Retreats, sheep festivals,etc. None of my friends are knitters!
    I hope you’re enjoying your spinning books. My sister gave me one called “Yarn-i-tec-ture” by Jillian Moreno. So far,so good.
    Have a great fibery weekend!

    • I will be sure to post abut it next week! Yarn-I-tec-ture is one of the books I got – I am going slowly with it – just reading about the different fibers – much of it I knew but not all. Loving it!

  6. Yep, I know how the time slipping by is. I’m finally feeling better and catching up with my blogging.
    Wishing you a Very Safe and Happy 2017 with oodles of success!

  7. All the best to you in the year to come…peace, happiness, love, and gratitude. It sounds like you have many of these things already blessing your life. True, there is some uncertainty in the future but I am convinced that holding true to our convictions, surrounding ourselves with the above mentioned ( love, peace….) will make a difference. Knitting and spinning will help, yes? Happy New Year!

  8. I do hope that 2017 will slow down a bit and be kind to celebrities. 2016 was a horrible year for them. My heart aches for many and my thoughts and prayers are with all the families. Things are quiet and peaceful here, too and I am thankful for that. Today is going to be a laundry day and put together Lego’s I received for Christmas 🙂 Nice and easy. I wish for you a Happy, Healthy and full of Love New Year with lots of crafting 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • Ginny, that sounds like a good day to me!!

      Yes, I hope the public figures stay healthy, or that the “news” treats their families with more dignity. Doesn’t need to be so sensational, does it?

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

