Did not see that coming   15 comments

Had a doctor’s appointment today (health report – she gave me the unwelcome news that it could take another TWO MONTHS before my ear is back to normal.)

And we got talking, as everyone is wont to day today, about the impact of whatever that was last night.

It seems “the forgotten people” are no longer forgotten.

But what about the truly ostracized, the unseen, the people on the edge, the people who are hanging on for dear life with the support of good programs like Food stamps, and TANF (welfare), and ACA (Obamacare), and rental assistance, and LIHEAP (energy support).  What happens to them as these programs are changed and stripped and eliminated, as promised?

These people are  in our communities, they are your neighbors and mine, they are you and me. Who will care for them, who will listen to them, who will advocate for them, and who will protect them?

It falls to all of us at the local level now.  We all need to step up and do what has to be done.

I don’t feel up to it, but I will find a way.

We also have to remain vigilant at the federal and state levels – what has been gained can be taken away.  I think of voting rights, gay rights, women’s rights, equal rights, civil rights.

And a special word – if you happen to be a Justice appointed by Bill Clinton or Barack Obama who serves on the SCOTUS – won’t you please eat right, drink your water, get plenty of sleep, exercise regularly, have all your wellness checkups and screenings, and do all that you can do to stay healthy and strong for 4 more years. We are counting on you to still be here when this is over.

The dark ages ended eventually, and this will, too.

Posted November 9, 2016 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with , ,

15 responses to “Did not see that coming

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw sorry to hear about the ear. But … at least you know that it’s going to get better.

    As for the rest …. I don’t feel that I have any real right to comment on the Politics of another country since I’m not of that country. But I admit that on reading your comment, I am glad to be where I am.

    Sending healing squidges .. and telling you that I’m pretty sure that all the worries won’t come to fruition. They simply just can’t. ~ Cobs. x

    • So good to get your hug, cobs. I guess our election is much like the Brexit vote – half the people are thrilled with the change, half the people are terrified of what it could mean. And it will all pass. Day 2 is easier than Day 1.

  2. Well said!
    Too many years fought fighting for equality for all to have it threatened. Maybe it’s time to change the election process and do away with the electoral college. It feels like my vote didn’t make a difference.
    Sorry to hear your ear is still causing problems. These things take time I guess. Hope it doesn’t interfere too much with your spinning and knitting.

    • In Maine (and I think Nevada) our electoral votes are not winner take all. So each district can give it’s vote to the candidate who wins that district, then we give the rest of the votes to whomever wins the whole state. In this way the rural district gets a voice and so does the more urban district. And this is the first year we have differed since 1974! If more states did this, I think the electoral college would more closely match the popular vote, and rural AND urban voters could feel heard. But no one asked me. 🙂

      YES, I can knit and spin and have been enjoying both of those things a great deal this week. The ear is improving, it just isn’t BETTER. 🙂

  3. I haven’t been online for quite a bit now. Sorry to hear about your ear. It must have been one heck of a virus you had. Concentrate on getting well and feeling more like yourself. Your message is right on. I can’t help but feeling that I am living in a very bad dream and I really want to wake up and have it all go away.

    • thanks – staying offline is smart. I think Ravelry is pretty safe, but that is about it. I have been looking at lots of patterns. 🙂

      Doc says it just takes time for all the tubes and crevices to drain and open up fully. She promised it would be done in January, or I can go to an ENT. I told her I would take the first choice, thank you!

  4. Sorry to hear that you are having ear issues. I do hope you are well soon. I am still stunned by the outcome of the election and having feelings I probably shouldn’t be having, but cannot understand how the man got elected. I am very frustrated with the 53% of white women that voted for him the most. I hope this man is not going to set us back 50 years. We have come too far to have it all wiped away. Let’s hope and pray that he does not do the damage he said he would. I pray for all of us. I pray for America.

    • Thank you! I think my ear will be OK, I just can’t believe how long it takes.

      Yes, I agree with you about the election. The demographic breakdown of the vote is fascinating to me. Wow. How ANY woman could vote for a man who said the things he said about women is beyond me. How do you get past that and support someone? But they did.

      Now I look to the future, how can we stop him from doing all he promised? I was pleased to read that although the R’s have the senate, it is a very close margin – one or two seats, I believe. And I do notthink that everyone there believes what he does. And I know he made no friend of Lindsey Graham, so maybe he will get some things blocked or tempered? Time will tell. I have already written to the brave Maine Senator Susan Collins who publicly refused to endorse him because of his temperament and apparently wrote Paul Ryan in on her ballot. We need her to remain level headed and unyielding to pressure. That’s two, and that might be enough. 🙂

  5. What’s that old curse–“May you live in interesting times”? This is way too interesting, and terrifying, for my taste. I like your attitude about taking care of our communities and I will be prepared to fight bigotry and hate where it raises its head. And, yes, may the current liberal (and otherwise sane) justices of SCOTUS stay healthy and strong.

    • Yes, it is far too interesting!!

      Someone else recently said something that gave me some hope – maybe he will be like everyone else elected to office and not keep his promises. 🙂

  6. I hope your ear issue will be okay sooner than later and that we can all figure a way out of this mess. While I’m up north, I’m filled with anxiety and fear for my friends and family in the States. I’m stunned. Simply stunned.

    • And how can people not understand that fear? It is real, good heavens, the things that are already happening are frightening. The things that could happen, and likely will happen are frightening. I can’t believe he truly won.

  7. Do hope your ear clears up quicker than expected. As for the other stuff, I might not live in the US, but I felt the shock go physically through me as I realised my husband wasn’t joking when he told me. Stay strong my lovely.

    • I appreciate your empathy – just as we felt the Brexit shock, though I understood less about that than I do this election. I have one strong hope on our next several years – that, although he is NOT a politician, Trump will manage to become one long enough to not keep his promises. It’s all we can hope for.

      • The Brexit thing is similar but different. Being part of the EU or not is a complex thing and not about anyone person and their policies or beliefs. Voting for Trump was endorsing a man with a whole set of hideous policies and beliefs. Yep, lets hope he’s as bad at keeping his promises as most politicians.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

