Not dead yet!   30 comments

But oh boy, not well yet, either. Friday the doc checked me all out.  Lungs are clear.  Sinus infection and ear infection are gone, BUT sinuses are still full of gunk, blocking ear. (TMI? Sorry!)  That drainage causes coughing.  She gave me a cough syrup that will help me sleep, said keep on doing the nasal spray and the antibiotics and added a sinus rinse.  Swore I would feel like a new woman by Monday.

That was yesterday.

Same old sick woman here, although I do sleep better with that cough syrup.

Tried going to work yesterday, got through about half a day.  today I went in, and stayed a couple of hours.  I would have stayed longer, but my computer was unavailable, and without it there isn’t too much I can do, so it was just easier to come home.  🙂  I’ll try again tomorrow.

Meanwhile, a bit of spinning has happened – I finished one bobbin of Hestia – a nice spin, but I have no energy for it. (Phone shot – bluer than the real color which is a nice rosy hue.)

 

img_1120

and I blocked Mirno eventually last week (it soaked for a couple of days!)

 

I love this shawl, and can see getting lots of use from it and making more of them.  From stash, of course.  I think I have yarn and beads for two more.  🙂

And because I could not handle lace or long rows, I cast on and finished this hitchhiker in You red My Mind – hand spun.  Which is actually red, not pink or purple.  I love how this came out, it feels quite rustic.  I will also get a lot of use out of this, I am sure.

img_1117

And lastly, I cast on a sweater this weekend.  Been intending to make it for sometime, and it is a fairly easy knit, so I went ahead and did it.

img_1116

It is Derry from New England Knits, and I am using the Cottage Craft yarn I re-purposed in September.  So far I am enjoying the knit.  I won’t think about the acres of stockinette in my future, I will think about the nice warm sweater I will have someday.  🙂

Not much to show for being home for nearly two weeks, I know.  But most of that time, I was asleep.

Oh, and just so that you know – on my way home from the doctor last week, I stopped and voted.  So if you are a political survey telephone person, YOU CAN STOP CALLING ME NOW.

Time for a nap, so I will catch up with you all later – and hopefully have more interesting things to talk about than sinus drip.

30 responses to “Not dead yet!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh no! It sounds like you’ve been sick for so long it’s ALMOST normalized. I am wishing you that lovely feeling of realizing that you are on the mend and feel like you can take on the world because you’ve been sick for so long you sort of forget how it feels to feel good. And soon! The knitting and the spinning however are awesome. Love the spinning especially, it looks like a really bouncy fiber.

  2. I’m pleased to hear you have mended a little. Your spinning and shawl are gorgeous. You’ve reminded me that it’s cold enough to get my knitting back out from hibernation so thank you 🙂

  3. I’m sorry you’re not all better but at least you can knit and spin. Your yarn and shawl are lovely. I hope you feel better.

  4. Sorry you’re not feeling well. Take care of yourself!

  5. Oh dearest Salpal.
    You poor, poorly thing. I feel so sorry for you. I know what it is to have a sinus problem, and know how sickening and weakening it is.

    I love the shawl … very much. VERY much.

    Really like the colour of the hitchhiker, and the edge. Beautiful all round.

    The knitting … I can really see that made up in that colour. Ohhh that’s going to be a beauty!

    Now go back to bed. Get more rest. And just let life carry on around you. You’re too poorly to get involved. I hope you’ll be better soon.

    Now then … repeat after me, while closing you eyes: One sheep, two sheep, three sheep, four sheep, f.i.v.e…s.h.e.e.p. . . . . .s.i….x…….s.h.e.e.e.e.e.

    shhhhhhh everyone. Salpals asleep.
    ~ Cobs. x

    • lol – with this cough syrup, I can sleep through anything, no need to be quiet. 🙂 Glad you like the knitting – it has been slow going, but I have done more with it the last few days. Still not back to normal, but I think I have reached a base of low functionality. 🙂

  6. You’ve had a long spell of being unwell! Hope that will end soon and you’ll be good as new. Meanwhile your shawls are beautiful. Get plenty of rest!

  7. That new jumper in progress looks cozy. Your handspun looks terrific in the Hitchhiker pattern. Sorry you’re still affected by that bug but glad there is some healing progress.

  8. Beautiful work! I hope you feel better soon…..although a bit more time at home to knit and spin, a good way to recover!

  9. Good heavens, this sickness has been hanging on! I’m impressed you are getting anything at all done–when I feel crappy, I can’t focus at all, but you’re making beautiful things!

  10. I love the Mirno! It is stunning.
    Sorry to hear you are still not well yet. Such a lot of drama just to get oneself better again. Just take it easy and relax and get better. Eventually you will get there.
    Sending you some hugs. xx

    • it seems like it is dragging forever! I feel like if I do what I am supposed to, I should get better faster.. But maybe this a new thing that comes with age? Not liking it. 🙂

      I love that Mirno, too. It is as light as air, but still cozy and warm.

  11. Sounds like this illness has been a doozy for you. I am glad you are feeling somewhat better and hope that you continue to get well quickly. I love the yarn you have spun. So pretty. And those shawls! Both are gorgeous. You make me want to get my needles out and give a shawl another try. Well, maybe soon. Your sweater looks like it will be very soft and comfy. Like one of those go to sweaters that you just like to snuggle up in on a cold wintry day. Can’t wait to see more progress on it. Now get better! Hugs!

  12. Sending you lots of good vibes to feel better soon. It’s horrible when it lingers. The spinning and the shawls are lovely. I haven’t forgotten about getting the little sweater pattern to you I just haven’t been able to put it together. Have you tried increasing the Vitamin C? Sinus infections can linger. Hope you feel better soon.

    • I am taking loads of vitamin C, and drinking OJ and eating greens. If I don’t; get this ear unclogged by Friday I will once again visit the doc. 10 days of antibiotics are up tomorrow.

      • Here’s hoping the ear goes back to normal. Two things that can make a situation like this drag on. 1) the antibiotic wasn’t the correct match for the infection; or 2) do you have allergies? Allergies this year are particularly bad and can make that kind of thing drag on. The mold spores this year has my air passages and ears clogged and the allergy meds aren’t helping. I never remember it being this bad. It is also making me feel very tired.

        • I am so sorry about your allergies! I have a friend in CT who is having a hard time this year, too. I don’t have any that I am aware of. But just my luck, I developed some recently. 🙂
          The infection is gone, so I am assuming the antibiotic was good (took the last one this morning, yeah!) but I will check in with doc tomorrow if ear isn’t feeling better. It is popping a bit today – first signs of life in a while, so I am hopeful…

  13. hope you feel better very soon

  14. Late to wish you a solid recovery soon, but the thoughts are there nonetheless. And I, too, am suffering from allergies this year like no other year. What a drag! At least we have knitting!

    • sorry to hear about your allergies! it seems to be an awful year for them. I am feeling much better this weekend – a couple of nights of cough free sleep really helped. 🙂

  15. Oh my lovely! I’m so sorry you’re still unwell. You seem to have been plagued by ill health for so long this year. I do hope the end of this horrible patch is very very close.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

