What have I been up to?   15 comments

Well, there has been a whole lot, actually.

But it all seems mundane and just busy work.  Work has been a long line of not hard but very frustrating things – getting 400 invitations to come out of the computer with no streaks blips, blobs, or smears,  and all lined up.  Getting 400 mailing labels to do the same.  And deal with division heads who didn’t know that I MEANT it when I said I needed their mailing lists at a certain date and time, and so going back and redoing labels and printing more invitations.

You know -around my other work,  being special projects girl is not always easy.  🙂

 

But then there was a weekend, and a big finish!  Just look at this yarn, I am so proud of it.  This is just UNDER 4 ounces, and it is about 600 yards!!!!  (601 before the bath.  Don’t know the after the bath number yet.)  That is lace weight, my friends, and it is what I have been striving to make since I learned to spin. It took forever to spin, and it is a good thing it is my favorite colors, I would have grown bored otherwise.  Even plying it took two evenings, and I ply pretty fast.

img_1078

 

I took it with me to Whorls and Purls on Saturday, for show and tell.  🙂  While there, I picked up 3 skeins of yarn that Debbie got sent “on approval” which I will use to make hats for her box.  Not loving the colors but the yarn is OK.  Other people must like these colors as they turn up everywhere.  🙂   Of course I cast on a hat immediately even though I have plenty of other things going.  I needed a mobile project and wanted to get it done for her. And someone will be glad for a warm hat in just a few weeks, right?

I also finished my first Christmas present which I can’t show you yet because the recipient might read it, but I felt it was a nice quick knit and I hope she likes it.  🙂 It was knit in Ella Rae Seasons, again a yarn I would not normally choose (acrylic wool blend, chainette structure) in colors the recipient chose.  Let’s just say it came out better than I would have thought.  🙂

I had hope to finish Mirno by the weekend, but that didn’t happen because I made a huge push on the spinning, so I am working in the last chart of that shawl, and then I will have two of the four done.  The last two are slower going, but I work on them regularly, so hope to have progress worth sharing in the next few weeks.

Since I do try to spin each day, I put the next project on the wheel.  Amanita was the September roving of the month at Purple Fleece, and I remembered some Lamb’s Pride I have in the hat yarn bag that will go nicely with it.  So, I am spinning it to be thick – I will three ply it and try for a bulky yarn for  the accent yarn on an alpine topper.  We will see how it goes.  The spin is going SO FAST!  Finished the first bobbin, and am about halfway through the second one now.

 

I feel like I am missing something, but if I think of it, I will share it later.

 

This weekend coming is a long one – love it!  The weather is so nice and warm, I am still getting cherry tomatoes from the garden, but I need to start putting things to bed, and plant some fall things like garlic, and maybe a bit of lettuce. I also need to dig up the remaining carrots.  So I expect we will do some yard work, and I will definitely do some knitting and spinning.  Maybe we will go on a little day trip someplace – can’t sit home ALL weekend, and the trees are so beautiful right now. Colors are getting perfect around here, and farther north, I think they are prime.  Maybe I will see if A wants to go for a ride.  Not that she doesn’t do that all week long…but this would be for fun.  Haven’t been for a ride for ages.  Think of the knitting I could get done.

15 responses to “What have I been up to?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The handspun! IT. IS. AMAZING!!! It’s EXACTLY what you have been working towards. You must just be chuffed to bits! The colors are great too, I can’t wait to see what it turns into.

  2. Beautiful yarn. I bet reaching your goal feels great. Would love to see it knit up. The trees here are still mostly green. What leaves are “turning” are the ones dropping from their trees because of drought. A drought which may all come to a sudden halt if the hurricane hits.

    • Thank you! Yes, mastering that, with that breed, at least, feels great.

      I see that Matthew might not bother US too much, I hope he just brings you gentle rain. Hey, I was just thinking of you a few minutes ago, and wondering if you brave the craziness that is Rhinebeck? It’s one of the events I would like to see someday, but that feels overwhelming to me. Not going this year, but wonder what it is really like? Is it as crazy as some of the blogs would have it seem? Is there a “quiet” day?

      • I always went to Rhinebeck until a few years ago. It just got too crazy. Too many people. Everything was a line. To see any of the vendors or get close to the goods you had to stand in line and move with the line so lingering and just looking was out of the question. It is really a great festival when you can get near the vendors and talk to them about their goods and animals. The quiet day would be Sunday afternoon. Then all the demos and classes are finished. I thought of going this year because I think knitting is on the down slide but decided to give it another year. If you go, I’d love to meet with you there! It’s about a 2 hour drive one way from where I am. It’s a pretty area of New York.

        • Thanks for the feedback! I checked out the website it looks like a big venue and the vendor list is amazing. So some day I hope to go and yes, when I do, we definitely must meet! I checked out the map and it does look like a pretty area. My grandfather was from New Lebanon, so I have roamed quite a bit just north of there. So pretty in the fall.

  3. Oh my goodness! that lace weight is AMAZING!!! Only seems five minutes since you started learning to spin and just look at where you are now!!! WOW!

  4. They joys of computers, printers, deadlines, and all. 🙂 The stunning lace yarn must indeed make up for it ALL! It is absolutely stunning, and I am sure totally worth it. So pretty and delicate. Wow.
    Hope you have a good weekend, and its not to cold just yet.
    Take care.

    • Thank you! Yes, that yarn made up for lots of things. 🙂 Not too cold yet – we are having an extended late summer! Mornings are cold, in the 40’s but the days are up into the 70s which is quite nice.

  5. Wow that yarn is gorgeous!

  6. I cannot believe you spun this yarn! It is so even and the colors are stunning! What will you knit with it?

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

