Back in the saddle   13 comments

At least as far as work goes!  Vacation was such a  slow nice time, we did NOT MUCH after the pellets were stacked, it was hot and humid and we didn’t have to.  We puttered and visited friends, we ate out every single day. There was no cooking on vacation.

Then we went back to work.

This is my work organization’s 50th anniversary, but we are a Community Action Agency, so we have like, you know, no money for fun stuff.

Still, we wanted to celebrate with our partners and especially with our clients. And while we do an annual dinner, most times, clients and community members don’t attend. So we got this great idea (maybe in April?) to have community picnics or barbecues.  We could load up the boss’s pick up truck, drive to different communities, set up, feed people, talk to people it would be great.  The boss got some donations, and we were off.  It sounded like a great idea then!

But of course, nothing is that easy, and the two person committee (me and my coworker of knit-buying fame, B) had about a million unexpected big projects land on our desks. July schedule turned to August, and it got later.  We finally said we had to do it or we could not be outdoors!  So this week we did it, and they were GREAT.  But it was, of course, WAY more work than  we ever imagined.  We did 5 in 5 days, starting last Friday, the fifth one was today.  That’s it, we are done for another 50 years. It will take us that long to recover and forget how much work it was.  We put together a great team, we cooked about a million hot dogs and hamburgers, we traveled all over the two counties.  The picnics were an hour long, but some places, that meant an 8 hour day, once you added in the set up time and drive time.

So it was a crazy week, and it ain’t over yet.  Our third annual tennis tournament fundraiser is Saturday.  I am almost ready for that, and will be by the time I leave Friday night.  But it means a 6 day work week.  Sigh.

There is always knitting and spinning to keep me sane.  🙂

I finished the Oaklet shawl in Tern.  In spite of my apparent inability to count, and having to order more yarn, it came out well, I think!  I would do it again, but pay more attention to my counting, I think.

oaklet-complete

I also finished one bobbin of the Life’s a Beach spin, and started the second one.

 

And I keep knitting on the other three shawls, they are starting to show progress, I think. No new photos of them for you, though.  I also listed lots of hats and things on Etsy that came back from the pop up shop.  Mostly baby things but not all.  Check it out here if you have a mind to. Nothing you haven’t seen before! 

I have a few new things in my brain.  One of the girls who works for us during the school year brought in some “head wraps” she bought at the fair.  They are lovely, knit from hand spun yarn, very cute on her.  She wants me to make her some more.  I looked and it looks pretty easy (famous last words) so I am going to work out a pattern to do that and make her a few of those.  Other girls saw them and want them too, so I may be able to sell a pile of them!  They are like cute hats with no top, not sure of the appeal, but I won’t  argue. I will go and see if the person is selling the pattern, though.  That would be easier, and would feel more ethical to me.

Other things I am looking forward to – supper at Mom’s after the fundraiser on Saturday, and NOTHING planned for Sunday!  Plus, I am taking next Friday off because of working so much this week.  Next weekend is the Common Ground Fair, and I will be heading there with Mom and niece B (owner of the now healthy bunny) so they can look at animals and I can look at yarn and fiber. I can’t wait for that!

Also, next Friday is the day I ship this %&*^#*&^&^  heart event monitor back to Tennessee. I can’t wait to get rid of it.  I hope it is providing useful info to the MDs because it is driving me crazy and I would hate for that to be for naught. It did get me out of lots of hauling and lifting during these picnics, though!

 

 

 

13 responses to “Back in the saddle

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The yarn you’re spinning is gorgeous! I love your shawl!
    I’m glad you had a peaceful vacation:)

  2. The shawl is gorgeous! What an exhausting week you’ve had, though–I’m sure the picnics made you feel good but what a lot of work. Glad to hear the bunny recovered!

  3. Love the shawl and the spinning. What a busy “vacation”. The picnics are a lot of work. Kudos for doing them. Glad the little bunny is doing well. Now for the countdown until you’re free of the heart monitor.

  4. Wow! You’ve really been busy.Back to work full force and then some! Your shawl and new bobbins are beautiful. I don’t know how you fit it all in. I’m retired and don’t get this much done!
    I’ve heard the Common Ground Fair is wonderful. Hope you have a great time. I hope to take in that and Rhinebeck one of these days.
    Aren’t you glad the heart monitor will be finished soon? I found the stickies tremendously irritating and changed to the paper tape. They were just as bad! With mine, it never recorded the actual problem I complained of, only some other minor things. Oh, well, hope yours solves your problem.
    Have a great week!

    • Thank you! I just work on my knitting and spinning some part of each day, and things happen. 🙂

      Yes, the Common Ground Fair IS wonderful! I have never been to Rhinebeck, but I hope to go some day, too. I someday want to go to each state’s fiber festival – not sure I will ever do it but it is a goal.
      The stickies are the WORST! I am so tired of this thing. I’ll find out in November if it was useful or not.
      Thanks for reading and commenting –

  5. Fabulous as always! Glad you had a nice holiday. X

  6. Phew, what a busy week, I hope you manage to get a nice relaxing day on Sunday! Your shawl is lovely 🙂

  7. Your shawl turned out so beautiful!! So elegant! And all that spinning of beautiful fibers! Sounds like you have been so busy, busy! I hope you get some downtime soon.

    • Thanks, Ginny! I do have a bit of downtime planned this weekend – three days! Friday will be at the fair, and Saturday, I will go to Whorls and Purls for the afternoon (local yarn store gathering) and Sunday, who knows???

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

