Thursday -Friday list   18 comments

With all the Bs and Cs coming, I decided to take Thursday off – already had Friday, but since I was just not ready for company, I was glad to get the extra day.

A and I spent last evening vacuuming, making beds, etc.  Today I did the last of the cleaning…except the table.  Still have to clear that off.

 

Then, I am off to the grocery store, dump, etc, my usual route.  🙂

 

After that it is all sitting and waiting, which means I will be puttering – I have yard work I would like to get done but likely won’t – clipping weeds between house and pool might get done.

 

Swimming will happen.

Knitting and spinning will happen.

Speaking of which – here’s a couple of photos of spinning done and spinning happening:

summer-bouquet-finished-for-web

 

color-tag-8-18-2016

Aren’t they pretty?  I love this whole spinning thing.

The shawls look the same, but three of them are ready for lace.  They have to wait for that 4th one to catch up, but then I will be into lace and beads big time, and should have good things to share next week.

Let’s see what else?  I am making a lasagna for supper tonight – good that the weather has cooled off.  And I will be roasting chicken on Saturday, so I hope the cooler, dryer  weather sticks around.

Not sure what the girls will want to do tomorrow, so can’t tell you for sure what the list will look like but I will be sure to let you know how it went once we get through it all.  🙂

Hope you have a fun weekend!

 

 

 

 

18 responses to “Thursday -Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that finished yarn! Great colors. And the in process? I am looking forward to seeing how those colors blend together. They look quite bright at the moment, but color in singles is often deceiving.

    • They are bright, but I think the purple will tone things down when it is plied. Others on the ravelry page have done this color way and it doesn’t scream neon!

  2. Your spinning looks great! I took my first lesson yesterday at Portland Fiber. It was a long trek but it was difficult to find anyone for lessons in my area of MA. I hope my yarn will look like yours before too long.

    • I am sure it will!!!! Just spin every single day for at least a month, and go as slow as you can on the treadle if you are using a wheel. But tell me about Portland Fiber- I haven’t heard of it and bet I need to!

      • I am working on my second spinning homework assignment and it looks thinner and more consistent already! I tend to go overboard
        Port Fiber is right off exit 7 on Rte.
        295 Portland at 50 Cove street-a stone’s throw from the highway in a semi industrial area. It’s owned by Casey Ryder. It appears that they have lots of fiber for spinning and weaving. She also sells dyed fiber on Etsy. They have lessons in both spinning and weaving and quite a few other workshops like dyeing,felting,etc.Amy King of Spunky Eclectic has done workshops on dyeing as does Casey.
        Casey Ryder is the program director for the New England Fiber Arts Retreat at Medomak Retreat Center.I don’t know where this is except that it is mid coastal Maine. It sounds wonderful. I guess Bristol Ivy is one of the instructors.
        I would say if you are in the Portland area, Port Fibet is worth checking out. I just wish it wasn’t such a long drive for me.

        • Thanks Martha! Your comment here finally appeared. I will definitely check it out. I made lots of progress between lesson 2 & 3 earlier this summer. Just keep doing it is all I can say!

  3. Lovely yarns. Sounds like you’re all ready for the weekend. Enjoy.

  4. Sounds like you are getting the important things done, like swimming and spinning 😉 The yarns look fabulous! Love the colors. I hope you have a wonderful visit.

  5. Sounds a perfect day to me. Chilli for us tonight! And I collect my new reading glasses tomorrow. Very excited as they are purple!

  6. Have a fun weekend with all the visitors, and knitting and spinning. 🙂

  7. Don’t you hate having to stop spinning to do housecleaning?? You have a busy weekend planned but it does sound about perfect. Same here–lots to do, great weather, good food!

  8. The yarn looks gorgeous. Sorry to hear you’ve had to do housework!

Leave a Reply

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

