Sunday morning   26 comments

Perfect Sunday morning.  🙂

It started with some porch spinning.  This is the fiber I dyed last week – it’s coming out more aqua than blue, which is a surprise, but not a bad one.  I am still learning how colors change as they are drafted, spun, plied, and knit. It’s all fun.

sunday-morning-for-web

Here’s Reyna, all finished and blocked.  I took her over to the shop yesterday, with mixed feelings.  If it doesn’t sell, I might keep it. 🙂

 

 

pine-star-reyna-for-web

This is the yarn I finished yesterday (it was a day of finishing things, I guess!)

It is 4 ounces of coopworth in the salpiglossis colorway from Purple Fleece.  It is a thick yarn, between an aran weight and bulky weight, I would guess.  Someday it will be a bright, warm hat.

salpiglossis-finished

Yesterday afternoon I also went to the Whorls and Purls gathering at the Purple Fleece, which was fun.  Lots of amazing things happening on needles and wheels over there.  I did 9of course) make a small purchase – because there simply isn’t enough blue, green and purple in my world.  And I got a bobbin, so now I can either work on more than one spin at a time OR do a traditional three play… Or even finish up a two ply without having to stop and skein the yarn to empty the bobbin.  Such a simple tool that will open up many possibilities for me.

image

Which reminds me, I don’t think I shared with you what happened Friday.

Don’t worry, it isn’t bad.  It’s about the mail.

The fiber I ordered from Three Waters Farm arrived, not even a week after I ordered it!

 

 

So instead of being almost out of fiber (which really was true!) I now have 4 beautiful braids tucked away, and still have three months of the Roving of the Month club at Purple Fleece coming my way.  And I still have about 6 ounces of undyed fiber to play with.

And some knitting to do.  Shawls are coming along, I cast on the 4th one, so there is plenty of variety for my fingers. 🙂

I’ll leave you with this phone picture I got in Bucksport yesterday – a gorgeous day!

image

26 responses to “Sunday morning

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh that shawl is gorgeous! The roving is such lovely colours too. Looking forward to seeing what you make with it!

  2. Such pretty photos! Your Reyna is stunning. I love the colors in it. I’m sure it will sell quickly!

  3. Gorgeous. Yes, the colour is stunning, I love it. Such a beautiful Sunday, and the perfect place to sit and enjoy. 🙂

  4. Wow–all those finishes! I would really like to finish something . . . anything. My projects seem to drag on and on (although, secretly, I kind of like that!)

    • well, right now I have 4 shawls ont eh needles, so it will be a long time before I have another finish! Unless I cast on a baby hat or something. Just what I need, though – 5 WIPs! 🙂 I think I will stick with the shawls for the time being.

  5. Your Reyna is beautiful and love all the choices for your next spinning project.

  6. Ooooooh that shawl is pretty. I love the rovings and can’t wait to see them spun up. Four shawls in progress. You are brave.

    • Not brave, just foolish. My goal is to get them all to the same place this week – done with stockinette, ready to start the lace. I might make it, at least on the three I started at the same time. The fourth one I started late last week, and I am loving that one, too – a silvery gray kid silk noir – it shimmers! And will have silvery beads! What on earth I will do with it when it is done I do not know… but I will love it. 🙂

  7. LOVE the shawl. It has a look about it which makes me think of those really elegant ladies from Victorian times – who, when they were at home, would wear a beautifully made shawl around their shoulders to keep the cold drafts off their necks and upper spine!

    It’s such an elegant and beautifully made shawl and SO lacy looking too! I think it will sell very quickly – but I can clearly see why it’s tugging at your heart to part with it.

    I really like the colours of the wool fibres you bought from the Whorls and Purls gathering. There’s something about that colour combination of Purples, Blues and Greens which draw me to them. Fabulous choice!
    Sending love from my corner to yours ~ Cobs. x

  8. Your porch area is lovely. Can I come over to knit there and read? How could one resist your Reyna shawl?! It’s pretty and large to get cozy in, maybe even wearing it like a hap shawl? I love the looks of that first roving, the one in the biggest square of the collage. It’ll be fun to see you spinning that up. And BTW, it makes me smile to think how much joy spinning is giving you.

  9. My Dear, how kind of you to visit and follow. What an artist you are with your spinning and knitting. I shall enjoy reading what you are up to.
    Kind Regards, Celia

  10. Your shawl is gorgeous! I can see why you have mixed feelings about letting it go. I’m sure it will sell quickly, so if you want it you had better go get it fast. Your spinning spot looks like a very happy place! Looks like a nice place to sit and knit and let your mind wander. So cozy. The sky picture you captured is amazing! Such beautiful, puffy clouds. What a gorgeous day it must have been.

    • thanks, Ginny – I hope (fear) that shawl does sell, so I can buy more wool, lol. Yes, spinning on the porch is wonderful – as will spinning by the fire be in a few months.

      It was a beautiful day, a front was on it’s way, so it was breezy, sunny, great clouds. Perfect day!

  11. Gorgeous shawl. All your spinning I making me fancy a go.

Leave a Reply

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

