What I am up to this week   21 comments

I got my first payment from the shop and promptly went onto the lovely web and ordered some more yarn.  Several colors (and loads of white for dying) of soft baby ull for little things, and some Madeleine Tosh Prairie for a shawl.  Because I just can’t get enough lace shawl knitting. 🙂 I did save a bit for some wool purchases later this summer.  I am set for a little while on that front, though. And I hope to have more income from the shop this summer, so I have been cruising the internet scoping things out.

This weekend I will actually be WORKING at the shop, because the wonderful Sonja has the big Celtic Festival in Belfast (Maine, not Ireland) to attend.  In return for me covering the shop, she will take some of my product to the festival, and not charge me the commission for anything she sells there or that sells in the shop this week.  So, it could be a big payday, or it could just be a favor.  Time will tell.  She was quick to suggest that I bring some knitting with me.  She doesn’t know me well enough to know that I don’t need to be told that, lol.

That means that tomorrow evening I will head there after work to learn the ropes of her system. The shop has no AC – but it has a beautiful window onto the bay which opens, so I hope the breeze is coming up the river while I am there, to keep it cool.  I suspect that window and the front door are all the “AC” the place has.

We are getting a few days of hot weather, I am so glad the pool is ready for me!  I went in as soon as I got home from work, it felt really good. I can’t remember what it was like before pools came into my life, except that I hated the really hot weather and now I don’t mind it AS much.

There has been a bit of crafting happening – but things that take time – so the pictures aren’t too exciting.  There is this hat:

seabreeze-seathwaite

made with my handspun!  I am knitting it in the Seathwaite pattern which seems appropriate as the colorway is sea breeze.  I am loving the stripes so far.  Hope they work well with the cables.  🙂

Here is the Reyna Shawl I have been working on – it is my travel piece, so is slow going.

reyna-progress

And here is a baby hat and matching booties – this will go to the store this week, hopefully be sold quickly!

booties-ad-hat-all-done

The spinning I am working on is this lovely Romney braid in the color way Broad Bill.  It is a bit of a challenge to me – first thing, it feels a little bit slippery, and while fluffy, I really have to watch the drafting or it breaks because it is too thin.

image

But I think I have that part figured out.  The other thing is that the super Debbie at Purple Fleece suggested I chain ply it so the colors don’t muddy.  But I was not feeling confident enough to do that after I had been spinning it for a bit, so I decided to spin up some of her solid black corriedale and ply it with that.

broad-bill-one-half-done

left-over-black

I really like how the first skein came out – the colors seem to pop (no photos of that yet.)  And I was amazed that after spinning two ounces of each color and plying, I had a whole lot of the black leftover.  That photo above is what’s leftover. That means I have been spinning it consistently thin!  Very exciting to me.  I will finish the colored spinning soon and then do all the black.  What black I have left I will ply to make thin black yarn.  Not sure what exactly I will do with it, but I will come up with something.  Not that I like knitting with thin black yarn, but I will get over it. 🙂

Last weekend I got out some dyes and the book Mom gave me and messed about with mini skeins and a bit of leftover roving.  The results are…interesting.  And bright! But I got the idea.  I was hurrying a bit because A bought strawberries to make jam, so needed the kitchen to be food safe. I think I will do more of it, and try more of the things mentioned in the book.  And I can’t wait to see how the roving spins up.  It is about an ounce, so it won’t make a whole lot, but it will be good practice and I will be able to see how the whole thing works together.

dye-job

Lastly in the crafting world – it turns out I sold one of my little collages at the shop, so I am making a few more to bring over – they are nothing fancy, just made with bits and scraps and shells and sea glass, but they are fun to make, and I am pleased someone liked them.  The prices are low, in part because I want to have things at different price points and in part because they take very little in the way of materials and thought to put together. But I don’t want to be making thousands of them, so this might be it for a while. First stage is to paint the little canvases… then go away for a day while they dry.  Maybe these take more time than I thought.  🙂

first-stage-of-collages

Outdoors things are growing, whether I wanted them to or not.  The garlic is doing REALLY well this year, very exciting!  And the tomatoes survived the short drought and have blossoms.  Carrots are slowly popping up, and the lettuce is re-thinking it’s decision to grow.  Strawberries are coming slowly, a few a day, so they are just snacks to the gardener.  Weeds and grasses are doing exceedingly well, and I will have to get out and weed whack in the next few weeks.  So glad we have no lawn, but the straggly mess does look better when it gets cut. Daylilies here and there are blooming, and blackberries are taking over the world, but at least they are bearing fruit – which I might get before the birds do – or not. Birds are chowing down on bird seed, but I see the cherries are ripening on the trees, so I expect birds will switch over to those soon enough. We had a tiny baby deer and her mama and sister in the field the last few days, I wish she would eat what I want her to eat.  😦 At least since the baby came along, they have not come as close to the house in their grazing.

So that’s it in my world this week – not all about yarn, but it’s always there in the background, doncha know?

 

 

21 responses to “What I am up to this week

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I very much like your shawl. I would like to make a shawl but looking for an easy pattern. Happy knitting!

    • Well, this one is easy, if you can knit, purl, yarn over, knit two together and slip one knit one, pass slipped stitch over, you can do this.

      Another easy one if you have a way to weigh your yarn is the Hap for Harriet by Kate Davies. Only need to know how to do three simple things for that one. 🙂

  2. Best of luck in the shop. My favourite job was in a shop, not the best paid but since I was selling yarn, fabric and haberdashery I was in heaven!

    • Sounds like a wonderful job! I had a part time job in a fabric shop once, I never brought home much money, but I did get a HUGE amount of fabric. 🙂

  3. It seems you’re even busier than usual! And what a nice variety of things to be working on–you won’t get bored!

    • I do seem to keep busy, in spite of my best intentions. I have been really thinking the shop thing over this time around – I seem to be spending time and effort on inventory, not what I WANT to be knitting. Fine if it sells, but a drag if it doesn’t. So I am on the fence about doing the November/December shop. I guess I will see how the rest of the summer goes.

  4. Sonja sounds like a good friend and associate to have. I wish you much success with your wears selling at the Celtic Festival. Sonja’s shop sounds like a quaint place situated in a great spot.

    Your hat and booties are so cute. Any baby would be lucky to have them. Your shawls are pretty and would be nice and warm to wear or just a pretty accessoy to compliment a dress or outfit.

    You certainly took to spinning fast. I’m impressed with your gorgeous yarns.

    Your dyed yarn looks like yummy sherbert on a Summers day.

    Your garden and yard sounds like their flourishing. I wish for you a hearty harvest before the cool winds of Fall blow in.
    🙂

    • thanks so much for all the compliments! fiber work definitely looks better than yard work. 🙂 This week it is hard to believe that fallis a couple of months away – it is so hot and humid! But I know we could get frost in August, so every year is a tomato gamble. 🙂

  5. I love the colours in the hat you’re making. Adore the shawl – it looks so soft and warm. But I especially love the colours of the Romney braid in the Broad Bill selection. I can envisage a hat made from that .. with not just one bobble but LOTS of little bobbles in the same colours, all over the hat. Ohhh… the more I thnk about how it would look, the more I adore it.

    A brilliant post, Salpal, genuinely entertaining all the way through. I felt like I was sat having a coffee with you, at your kitchen table. A truly great time. Loved it.
    Thanks for coffee in Salpal.
    Squidges ~ Cobs. x

    • a bobble hat! I didn’t think of that. 🙂 I did think hat and matching mitts, but I might have to go pattern exploring on this one. 🙂 It was great having you over for coffee and a bit of crafting, stop by any time. 🙂

  6. The spinning is looking lovely! The knitting is looking great too. You are so lucky to have that shop as an outlet for things you make. I wish there was one around here, but it is just not that type of area. A lot of the garden things down here are not doing well. The butterfly bushes haven’t bloomed along with many other things. Though we are up to our eyeballs in squash.

    • I am lucky to have the shop, but I am not sure how well things will do over all this summer. She said traffic is slower than she expected. Not Christmas! But we will keep trying, and what doesn’t sell goes on Etsy to not sell, lol. As for the gardens – it is just crazy this year. We get our rain 3-4 inches at a time, then long hot spells. I will have to water again this week. I don’t blame the plants for not knowing what to do.

  7. Break a leg at the knitting shop and for your things at the fair. How cool to have a yarny pay day and treat yourself to some more fiber goodness.

    • it is very cool! All the money I earn from selling knitting and little art bits is designated for my craft “stash” it has no obligations in the household budget, which is a very nice thing – I know I am lucky that way. It keeps me acquiring and creating, and gives me an outlet for all the stuff I keep making. It’s either a vicious circle or a serendipitous cycle of love. 🙂

  8. LOVE all of your projects! The hat is looking so sweet with those beautiful beachy colors. The shawl is looking awesome! Makes me want to get back to my shawls (which are barely started) but I am at that row that has given me great difficult and resulted in ripping all out and starting over too many times. But seeing yours is making me want to pick mine up again. Love to see your collages when they are finished. They sound wonderful with seashells and sea glass.

    • thank you! I’ll share collages as they come along. That is just the base onto which I glue left over scrapbook paper, stamp some things, use stickers and shells and such to make something – it will definitely be beachy, but more than that I do not know. 🙂

  9. Sounds “beachy”!, LOL Can’t wait to see.

  10. Ha ha! Fancy thinking you’d go anywhere without your knitting. Loving all the beautiful colours on this week’s blog. Have a great weekend at the shop. Hope you sell loads and your friend sells loads too.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

