Why I don’t knit afghans   28 comments

The other day in a Ravelry group, people were talking about knitting afghans, and how many they had or had not knit.  I mentioned that I have crocheted many, but only knit one.  And I said it was too long a tale for the forum, but that I might tell it here to share with the group.

So here it is -the tale of my one beautiful chevron blanket. It gets a gruesome, so if you are squeamish, brace yourself.

I knit it using  soft blue, soft purple, and natural wools, in a very traditional chevron stripe.  I remember it was eight rows per color (loads of ends!) and very pretty.

Back in 1983 and 1984 I worked on that thing for MONTHS, thinking I would never finish it. Yes, I am sure of the year, you will see why.

I had my own apartment in those days, shared with two roommates.  No washer included, so I used to manage to visit family with dirty laundry on a regular basis.  🙂  That February my grandfather died, and so I got in the habit of visiting my grandmother once a week or so for supper and laundry and knitting.  She is the one who taught me to knit, and she loved to see my slow progress.

On April 25, I made point to plan to go to see her, it was my grandfather’s birthday, so I am sure of the date. I thought she could use a distraction.

I packed up laundry, soap, knitting, change of (clean) clothes and headed to the car.  Knitting and purse on the front seat, then I leaned over (it was a 2 door car) to put the laundry into the back seat. As I did, the box of soap powder started to fall.  I lunged for it, and you might guess what happened.

I slipped on the seat and landed on my knitting.

I dropped the soap, and muttering, levered myself up.  That’s when I realized the knitting was now attached to my leg.  Yup, I fell on the needle and drove it through the blanket and into my thigh. Didn’t feel it at first, but then I did!

What to do? I thought about pulling it out, but just thinking about it made me nearly pass out, so I sat back and started blowing the horn.

I lived in a suburban neighborhood, houses and apartments all around.  My roommates weren’t home, but the neighbors below us and over the garage were.

No one came.

OK.  Next idea.  I knew I could not get upstairs, so I maneuvered my self out of the car, bent over to hold the bag of knitting (the blanket was nearly complete) and hobbled/hopped to my neighbor’s door. I couldn’t get up her steps, but I got myself  across them to I could reach the door bell, and I rang it.  and rang it.  and rang it.

She pulled that door open with a “WHAT DO YOU WANT!?”

I asked her if she would mind calling me an ambulance as I had this knitting stuck in my leg.  I have to say she was great.  She did that, told them what little she knew, then called my grandmother for me so I could tell her I would not be over for dinner, then we tracked down my dad to meet me at the hospital.  Meanwhile, the ambulance and a fire engine and what seemed like a whole lot of people arrived. They all were expecting a little old lady, they said, not a silly 20 something girl.  After all, it was a knitting accident, right?

They could not see the wound because there was this entire blanket in the way, so naturally, they decided to cut it (the blanket) off. I was thrilled to see it was the empty needle that was the culprit, not the one with the knitting on it.

You know that made me more hysterical.  I refused to let them, and they humored me.  They got these giant metal cutting loppers, and cut the end off the needle and carefully slipped the blanket off the needle, gave it to my neighbor for safekeeping.

Then they carted me to the hospital, where after x-rays determined that I had not hit the bone and many jokes about cowboys and Indians and playing with John Wayne, they yanked the thing out and sent me home with my dad. A few days on crutches and elevated and I would be fine.

I made him stop back at the apartment to thank the neighbor and get some things before we went back to his house for the night. Most importantly, get the knitting!  I finished knitting that blanket, but was so sick of it by then that I never did weave in the ends.  It was for my bed, and I decided that fringe on one side of a blanket was a cool thing.

That blanket is long gone, but I will always remember it.  And I crochet afghans because it is too dangerous to knit them.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted July 7, 2016 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with ,

28 responses to “Why I don’t knit afghans

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I was 7 or 8, I was sitting on a girl friend’s lap and, yes, knitting. That’s the way it’s done, isn’t it? To make a long story short, I fell off and onto my knitting needles and one went into my chest. The friend’s mom pulled it out. My rib saved me from complete disaster. Now I knit for a living; go figure.

  2. Oh my that would traumatize anyone!

  3. I have only ever knit one tiny lap blanket…the thought of an afghan just strickens me. I do adore them though and am in awe of all who make them. I can’t imagine stabbing myself! no wonder you dont knit them! lol

  4. Oh. My. Goodness!!! I sat here squirming as I read from the needle ‘incident’ onwards. Ohhh heckaroonie! That’s the stuff of nightmares.

    Who knew that such a wonderful, beautiful story was going to end up like it did! eeeeeek.

    Thank heavens that nothing really bad happened as a result of this ‘incident’. (I’m calling it that but I really want to just wriggle and squirm every time I think of it).

    I was thinking of you earlier when I read a blog post somewhere else, and decided that I would come and tell you about something that I thought might speak to you … it might not .. or it might. They are little things called Pocket Prayer Shawls.

    I feel it’s worthy of sharing with you, just in case. So I share the link to the blog: http://www.lionbrand.com/blog/pocket-prayer-shawls-provide-portable-comfort/#sthash.v08sP9Qf.dpbs

    Please feel free to tell me I’m obviously missing a brain for dreaming that you’d find this interesting or even a source of inspiration for something similar of your own. tsk tsk.

    I’m still ewwing about that knitting needle. [squirm]
    *shudder*
    ~ Cobs. x

  5. Best reason ever for not knitting afghans! I’m not sure I would have finished it.

    • lol by that point, I was determined. It actually amazes me that I somehow los the thing, I spent many years neatly at the foot of my bed. 🙂

  6. Ho dang! What a tale!

  7. who’d have thought knitting would be such a dangerous activity!

  8. Yikes! I didn’t see that coming but, now that I think about it, knitting needles seem pretty lethal! I wonder how many knitters have a similar story. Glad it didn’t turn out worse!

  9. What a traumatizing experience. I understand why you don’t knit afghans now. I’m like you in that crochet is my top choice for most yarn-crafts, albeit for different reasons, bless your heart (or should I say thigh). I’m glad you recovered and continued to crochet and knit and share about it here with us. 🙂

  10. That totally qualifies as masochistic knitting! I love that fact you wouldn’t let them cut the blanket. It sounds like you didn’t panic and that is good. I’ve long suspected the spikey little darlings were a tad dangerous. Glad it didn’t turn out worse.

    slippedstitches
    • Yes that was masochistic knitting, wasn’t it? I know they are dangerous, I saw what Jamie lee Curtis did with one in Halloween. I always feel safe with one to protect me, lol

  11. Wow! That was quite an accident! I can see why you would never want to knit another afghan again. So glad that your injury was not life threatening and you kept your head about you. I probably would have freaked out myself. I think now, whenever I pick up my straight needles, I will always remember your story and make sure that my point protectors are on the ends before putting away. Thanks for sharing 😉

  12. That is a remarkable story. I might be afraid to knit for a while if that happened to me 🙂

  13. YIKES!!!

  14. My sister told me a few days ago that she’d never want to learn to knit in case things like this happened. I didn’t think at the time it could happen too often, but knew I kept my metal needles carefully positioned on the couch so as not to poke a hole in the COUCH. This story and the comments are tempting me to stick with my circulars instead.

    • Circulars are definitely less likely to poke you or your furniture! Tell your sister not to worry, it doesn’t really happen often, and there are rubber tips you can put over the needle which will help prevent this. I had one on the needle with the knitting on it, but just stabbed the empty needle through the blanket, that was my big mistake.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

