Monhegan 2016   18 comments

 

I have only ever been to Monhegan in June.  While I would like to go some other time of year, there is just so much to love about June on the island.

 

There are the incredible blues of sea and sky.

monhegan-2016-surf-from-Burnt-Headmonhegan-2016-surf-from-Burnt-Head-2monhegan-2016-lobster-cove-blue

The riotous blooming of flowers everywhere!

The quaint beautiful scenes around every bend.

 

The weather-beaten shingle buildings, which to my mind are the perfect shade of gray.  (We stayed in the square cottage to the right, in the photo looking down on the cluster of houses.  Mom and I shared a room which was half the second floor, J had a smaller room on the third floor. It is a perfect spot, right in the center of the island.)

The fun of beach combing in the morning when the tide is low. (That little speck is J finding all the blue sea glass.)

there are beautiful amazing views from every hill top, every curve of the road.

Is it any wonder I can’t keep from going back whenever anyone suggests it or is willing to go with me????

Here are a few phone shots of our view from the cottage

imageimage

 

And one of the view Friday morning when I went up to the Inn to get early coffee.

image

 

We had a wonderful time, although I was heartily sick of hills by the time we left!  I just never get sick of the beauty that is everywhere, and we were SO lucky with the weather.  I have been there when it down poured the whole time, and this was better.  🙂 I did do a bit of knitting when we sat on the porch, and in the evening after supper – finished up one baby hat and started another.  But that is another tale.

18 responses to “Monhegan 2016

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The scenes are spectacular. Thanks for the photos. I love what of your part of the country I have seen and I love to see images of parts I have not seen.

  2. What a beautiful place!

  3. It looks a beautiful island, no wonder you love it so much.

  4. That’s a gorgeous spot! Do people live there year round? Is there a grocery store, etc.?

    • about 60-65 people live there year round. there is no grocery store as you or I know it – but there is a small store that has some grocery items. But they are VERY expensive, due to freight costs. Most people who live there do big shopping trips to the main land, I think, and there is a community farm that grows all sorts of veggies, in plots scattered about the island.

  5. Oh, these coastal Maine beauties! Just returned from an overnight in Stonington….just what I needed for a little recharge! So glad you were able to get over to Monhegan for a little R&R, Do you feel the urge to set your spinning wheel up on one of the big rock outcroppings overlooking the water and just spin, spin, spin. Ahh. Maybe we should?!

    • I DID feel the urge to sit and spin in a few places, but did not lug the wheel over. But if I go for a week as I hope to someday in my life, the wheel goes with me, some how. Glad you got to go to Stonington – I love it there, so charming, and the best farmers market down east. 🙂

  6. Oh how I miss New England! It’s like, around every corner you get smacked in the face with beauty if you are on a coast line! Especially this time of year. I am glad you got some time to enjoy a beautiful place, and I am very glad you could share it with a fellow blogger who often yearns for the sea. 🙂

  7. How beautiful. Glad the weather was wonderful for you. I love the weathered grey color too. So restful.

  8. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful place!

  9. Looks a fabulous place. Glad you had a great time. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Wow…. INCREDIBLE photographs, each one is a little work of art all in itself. I wish I could have been there with you. Thank you for the share of these photo’s. They’re amazing. ~ Cobs. x

  11. Beautiful photos! I want to visit there! Looks like a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • I hope you get to someday. It is the perfect place to relax and the perfect place to over achieve if you like hiking. I am already planning a longer visit with a friend, and we might make room for more, so let me know if you want to be included. 🙂

  12. Beautiful photo’s, what an absolutely stunning place!

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

