Maine in June is pretty wonderful   20 comments

There’s this I see across the street every time I leave my drive:

image

And this when I pulled into the dooryard after work yesterday:

image

(Sorry for the blur – phone plus hastily stopped car doesn’t equal good photography.)

Just look at all those lovely greens, and blue-ish purple!  And that little dab of red that you probably can’t see on my friend the woodpecker. I think that is my hairy friend, but we also have downy around too.  And pileated, but I know that isn’t the pileated fellow, he’s way too big to eat that suet; he has tried, and failed.

I forgot to bring the suet in last night, and it was still there when I left this morning – thank you Mr. Bear.

June in Maine is wonderful, even if a bit chilly this year. (Wearing a lace shawl to work today. Because the air is chilly. Also wearing sandals even though it is chilly, because IT IS FREAKING JUNE PEOPLE.  That’s like summer. In some places, anyway.)

20 responses to “Maine in June is pretty wonderful

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty pretty pretty! “A bit chilly” sounds nice to me in my 90-degree midwestern summer!

  2. Love the pictures. It’s been chilly here too.

  3. Lupins!!! Ohh my most favourite garden flower. In the cottage where we used to live we had a very big garden and my husband grew ‘pockets’ of them around the garden, just for me, in all sorts of colours. I wouldn’t let anyone pick them to put in a vase because I couldn’t stand the thought of someone ‘ending their lives’ by cutting them. Beautiful photos. Thanks for the share. ~ Cobs. x

    • While they aren;t native to Maine, they are very glad to be here, and grow wild all over the place. There are some gorgeous fields just filled with them, all the blues, pinks and whites just blend to the most glorious display. I have been scattering seeds each year in our yard, so we have started but the across the street neighbor has a meadow full, as you can see.

  4. Maine in June is Stunning! I love the flowers and birds and all the pretty greens and colours. Enjoy!! 🙂

    • thank you, I do! I hope someday you can come see it for yourself.

      • 🙂 I plan to visit the USA one day, and am saving for it. But the exchange rates are not playing along. 🙂
        And I already have such a long list of places in the USA, I may have to visit for months. 🙂 which is not a bad idea either.

        • Well, you keep saving – exchange rates change. 🙂 Ours with Canada drifts up and down. Some summers we all go there, other summers, they all come here. I haven’t checked it lately, this might be a “we all go there” summer. 🙂

          And yes, you had better plan to stay for months – it is a huge country, it can’t be seen in a short amount of time.

  5. Wow–that display of lupines is FAB! Our weather has been pretty chilly, too–but I’d still rather have that than the sweltering heat!

    • I agree, I guess, although a little more heat would be OK! It has been in the 40s over night this week. But the days are getting warmer, and they promise a summer-like weekend, so that will be nice. 🙂

  6. If it’s any consolation June over here isn’t living up to expectations either, its been raining pretty much all week! The lupines are very pretty.

    • Everyone is having less than perfect weather – too bad we can’t average it out – send you some sunshine, the Midwest here some rain and me a tiny bit of warmth (I don’t need temps in the 90’s!)

  7. Still better than winter with wind chills of 20 below and 3 feet of snow on the pike! Even so I bet your like me, we will always call maine my true home.

Leave a Reply

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

