Spinning lesson   15 comments

Keep the wheel going.  Don’t worry too much about how fast just yet.

Pinch

Draft

Slide

Feed

Draft

Slide

Feed

 

oops, keep the wheel going.

Draft

Slide

Feed

If your hands stop, your feet have to as well.

Draft

Slide

Feed

Don’t let the wheel tell you what to do.

Draft

Slide

Feed

Keep your hands moving

Draft

Slide

Feed

I think I will really like this spinning thing, although right now it is far from a relaxing process.

Draft

Slide

Feed

I have to practice for half an hour each day, and go back next week, when she will show me how to hand card.

Draft

Slide

Feed

By week three I will be plying, and will know how to wash fleece and will be a fabulous spinner.

Draft

Slide

Feed

She said I did very well for the first time.

Draft

Slide

Feed

It looks like a twisty lumpy mess. (I don’t have to worry about not getting enough spin in my yarn.)

Draft

Slide

Feed

Did you know there are right handed and left handed wheels?  I didn’t.  The one I am using is right handed.

Draft

Slide

Feed

I am left-handed.

Draft

Slide

Feed

I think I can get it anyway.

Draft

Slide

Feed

I want to go home now and practice.

Draft

Slide

Feed

Debbie at the Purple Fleece in Stockton Springs Maine has the patience of a saint.

Draft

Slide

Feed

The lesson was almost two hours long.

Draft

Slide

Feed

For most of an hour of that she patiently said

Draft

Slide

Feed

 

 

 

15 responses to “Spinning lesson

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooh exciting! Good luck with the practice

  2. LOL. All together now
    Draft
    Slide
    Feed
    😘

  3. You’re funny! I didn’t know there were left and right handed wheels. It sounds like its very rhythmic. More fluid than a drop spindle.

    slippedstitches
    • I never knew it either, but once I sat down to spin it became very obvious. I had to move over to the left and face more left as well, or I would have been working across my body with every motion,a nd that would have made me uncomfortable. She recommends a castle style wheel as a solution – everything is front and center, no handed-ness about it. They do make left handed wheels, of course, but not so often and more expensive.

      And I think it will get more rhythmic when I get better at it. 🙂

  4. Salpal, you will master spinning. I’m sure of it. Great blog opening.

    When I was driving home from a fiber festival where I had a mini lesson at a wheel, I thought over what I’d done and what I should have done. The guy demonstrating didn’t say do this or that, just do it and keep the wheel going. Well, after some deep thinking, I realized what I should have been doing, but wasn’t. For a few seconds in the car with only a steering wheel in front of me, I decided that I had it all figured out. I just need a spinning wheel now, and lots of practice….and real lessons.

  5. Sounds as complicated as learning to drive, but I’m sure once you’ve got the hang of it you’ll barely need to think about it. Never knew there was right and left wheels either.

  6. Such a fun way to write this post–loved it! I learned to weave, a little, long ago and can remember how hard it was to coordinate the different movements–like patting your head and rubbing your belly!

  7. draft, slide, feed…after a while it becomes one fluid motion! As to left and right handed wheels, I learned on an antique flax wheel, with the distaff on the left it was automatic to spin with the right hand closer to the orifice. I taught my daughter to spin on my castle wheel (a louet s-10), we are both right-handed, but in learning she was mirroring my movements and spins with her left-hand closer to the orifice 🙂 when plying I tend to work either way (left or right) One thing I’ve learned in teaching spinning (and observing other spinners) there’s no one method that is “right” once you learn the basics and practice, practice, practice! it’s what is comfortable for you and with different fibers you will change your approach to them if only slightly. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

