Losing at yarn chicken   14 comments

image

Just had to bind off the rest of those stitches. πŸ˜–

However it is not as bad as it seems. The instructions for Reyna tell you where to adjust if you think you will run short. I put a lifeline in at the spot I knew I was safe and then I did 2 more rows. I was weighing the yarn after every row and I thought 10 grams would be enough for 5 rows and the bind off. Apparently it will be enough for 3 rows and the bind off, which won’t happen until Wednesday.

It’s Β quite a wavy sort of bind off, I am counting on a soak and a block to straighten it out and make the shawl a little bigger, it looks pretty small right now.

Posted May 16, 2016 by salpal1 in how it came out, What's on my needles

Tagged with , ,

14 responses to “Losing at yarn chicken

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Yarn Chicken” love it! I end up making lap blankies or placemates out of left overs cuz I havent yet learned how to “increase size by blocking” and thus, just buy an extra skein or few to make sure. Lol. Stitch size/gauge probably a factor…too. lol. From the newbie of 18 years who hasnt committed fully to be a real apprentice craftsman. πŸ™‚ beautiful piece, pictured. No matter the size. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! This is a “store sample” knit for my local yarn store, and they only gave me one skein, and it is a smaller skein than the pattern calls for. So, I knew I would run out of yarn at some point. I thought I had figured out exactly when that would happen but I missed by a couple of yards. 😦 So it will be smaller still than they might expect. I’ll write to them before I finish it completely, so if they want to send me more, I can add it on. But I want to get it done with what I have so I can tell them what we are looking at.

  2. Good for you, putting in a lifeline. Makes all the difference. πŸ™‚

  3. The color(s) is stunning! Gorgeous.

  4. Losing at yarn chicken – all been there 😦

  5. Sounds complicated. In my book, You’re a Master at knitting.
    Knitting with rods is one yarn craft that I’ve never mastered except on the simplest levels.
    Blocking is a great way to shape up creations. I hope you’ll post a photo of your finished blocked shawl.

  6. It’s good that you made the sane decision to put in a life line in case the yarn ran out.

    slippedstitches
    • πŸ™‚

      I knew I was cutting it really close, and I also had already learned that the yarn does not like being un-knit, or otherwise over worked. Even pulling back to the lifeline had a few tricky moments, it is the kind of yarn that sticks to itself – ugh. But I knew I wanted that lifeline!

  7. Oh no, that’s so annoying when that happens but good thinking to put in a lifeline!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

