I made it nine days   17 comments

Kind of hard to believe that without trying or not trying, it was ten days into May before I wore something I made.

Getting dressed this morning in my favorite but boring-est outfit – navy blue skirt, white shirt, navy lace up oh so comfortable old lady shoes I realized wanted some sparkle, and that I had just the thing – a necklace knit up in Laura Nelkin’s Rippled pattern, but using different beads than she called for.  This one has Swarovski Crystals at the edge instead of matagama beads.

As soon as I fastened it on and I  realized it was, in fact, the perfect touch. (Photo cropped to hopefully hide hideous wrinkles – who put that old lady neck on me???? uh, I mean, to accent the necklace.)

image

 

Almost as an after thought, I stuffed my blue lace cardigan in my bag on the way out the door.

Glad I did, it went on as soon as I got to work. Then as I sat a little longer in my freezing cold office I added old blue mitts I always keep in my bag (it snowed yesterday.  I mean seriously, what is that about???? Don’t tell me 70 coming on Thursday, I don’t care.  It freaking snowed yesterday.)

So now I resemble a bejeweled blue and white bag lady.

Wearing three things I made and really wishing that I had also grabbed a pair of warm hand knit socks.

 

 

 

17 responses to “I made it nine days

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the sparkly, but I need to see the bejewelled bag lady look. Sounds good to me since I usually just stop at bag lady 🙂

  2. Very pretty! Good job you had your other knits to hand too for what turned out to be such a chilly day!

    • thanks very much! Yes, it was a good thing, although now it is a warm day – don’t even need the sweater, let alone mitts. I have a jacket in the car for this evening, I am sure it will get chilly again when the sun goes down.

  3. Wonderful job on this pretty, handknit necklace.

    • Thanks, Stefanie! I love Laura Nelkins’ jewelry patterns, and make them up in all sorts of colors and styles. I almost forgot I made this one this winter. 🙂

  4. So pretty! Love the sparkly crystals.

  5. What a nice way to dress up a low-key outfit! It meant, I’m sure, that the necklace got a lot of attention. But snow . . . ?? Really??

    • Thank you! I did get a few nice compliments.

      Yes, snow – only flurries here, but still noticeable. they got real snow (measurable) in the northern parts of the state. And even though it is supposed to be nice and warm the next few days, we still have plenty of frost warnings in the overnight forecasts. Ugh. I want to uncover my strawberries before the 4th of July!

  6. Love the necklace. What a pretty touch. Snow in May in Maine is not that unusual. One year we got 10 inches on May 6th. Sandals the day before gave way to boots the next.

    slippedstitches
    • Thanks! I love making those little silk/beaded things and they don’t take anywhere near as long as a lace shawl, lol.

      Snow in May – sigh. I know it isn’t uncommon, but it IS cruel. 🙂 I noticed this morning that asparagus is poking it’s head out,a dn the garlic is growing very well. But no other veggies have been planted, and won’t be for a few weeks. And the strawberries remain deep in straw. Good news is muscari is looking fabulous, as are some daffies. Tulips are budded… so some think it is truly going to get warm enough to bloom. 🙂

  7. Beautiful necklace! I guess Mother Nature is still playing with us. I hope she gets over her tantrum soon.

  8. Wow, very pretty. Love the sparkle.
    Sorry to hear about the cold weather though, is Spring or Summer ever going to arrive.
    Keeping my fingers crossed. 🙂

    • now it is here for a few days at least. I uncovered my strawberries yesterday, but kept the old straw nearby in case I have to cover them overnight. We can get frost for another month or two. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

