It got cold, all of a sudden   10 comments

I suppose not really, but it sure feels like it. The last few days have been very cold, and extremely windy, which makes very cold feel like bitter artic cold.

Good thing I have lot of cowls and shawls and hats and socks, right?Β  I do need more sweaters though, and that is a fact. Better move one up the queue.Β  πŸ™‚

Today I was huddled at my desk in a wonderful cowl I made a few years ago (with some fabulous handspun yarn I got at Common Ground Fair – it has PEARLS spun into it!)Β around my neck, my giant gray fluffy Pi shawl wrapped around my shoulders and torso, and my boss cracked up.Β  I asked him if he wouldn’t mind paying the heating bill.Β  πŸ™‚

But now I am warmer, and have put the shawl away for a time. But not very far away – I feel the draft when the door opens and it does that frequently in the mornings.

 

My knitting is moving right along – slow on this project, as it is one I only work on when away from home (my “mobile” project)

image

and faster on this one, which I work on each evening.

image

Just about done with the tenth repeat of the third chart – love the pattern and placing the beads as I go is getting to be not as cumbersome as at first – I am developing a rhythm for that, too. Can’t wait to see what the 4th chart looks like… and the 5th and 6th… πŸ™‚

Yarn peeks over the back of the couch at me, calling me, reminding me that I promised it would be next…and maybe it will be.Β  But maybe not as well.Β  I have so many conflicting projects and goals pulling me – slowly and steadily build inventory; knit up the stash and make me some warm things; make more pretty jewelry because I love playing with the beads; try some of the ornament patterns I have bookmarked… which could also be inventory building, right?

 

I barely have time to go to work.Β  And it is so cold out there, I really don’t want to…

10 responses to “It got cold, all of a sudden

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know you’re obsessed, when the yarn start talking to you! I’m in the same place–so many planned projects, so little time!

  2. That’s the perfect way to stay warm!

  3. Keep warm and enjoy your knitting, your work is stunning. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I love the Peaseblossom – and it amazes me, it is so delicate that I have more than 300 stitches on a 16 inch circular needle, with no problem! Can’t wait to get it blocked and see that lace open up and the beads sparkle. As for the green and gold waves, I just can’t wait to finish it, period. πŸ™‚

  4. It has been bitter cold here, too, in Michigan. We are supposed to get to 27 today with a little less wind. Tomorrow 30 but then back down again. I guess I would rather have the cold than the snow and I see that the east is in for a whopper this weekend. Both of your knitting projects are beautiful! I especially love the bottom one as it looks very similar to one I have just started. What is the pattern you are working on? And are you crocheting the beads on as you go? Keep wearing those cowls and shawls and stay warm πŸ™‚

    • It has gotten quite nice here – same temps, but wind has finally died down. Although, I guess when that storm (which is thankfully missing us) goes by, the winds will pick up again. Sigh.

      The bottom shawl is Peaseblossom, by a designer whose name I can’t recall at this particular moment (but I can get for you if you want it). Claire of the blog Mollie and Claire sent it to me, and I love it! I am adding beads with a crochet hook as I knit along. It was slow going at first, as I was clumsy, but I have the hang of it now. I did figure out that it is a left-handed thing – adding beads before you work the stitch means that you are doing the work either with your right hand or at an awkward angle, as the stitch you are working on is on the left hand needle. Once I worked that out, I figured out that I just transfer it to the right needle, then work at adding the bead with my left hand and transfer it back to the left needle to be knit. I figured it out because one row you add the beads after you work the stitch and that was so much easier. The right-handed world has no idea how easy they have it. πŸ™‚
      Keep warm and show off your knitting! πŸ™‚

      • I was just wondering as I the shawl I started looks similar. It is by Prism and the beading is added by crocheting while you knit. I have never done that before and not sure I will with this shawl, but it does sound interesting. I need to find a tiny, tiny crochet hook first. Whenever I get near or hear about a left-handed person, I do feel bad for them; having to learn everything a different way. You have double the work-learning something new and learning how to do it left handed. I feel for you. If I have questions about adding the beads, I know who I can go to πŸ˜‰

        • Lol, yes we do have to use lots of brain power on sorting things out! I would be glad to help with beading if you need it, but I think you will do fine, you are so talented. I am using a 1.4mm hook. Probably could use a slightly bigger one with these size 5 beads but it is what I had that worked. πŸ˜‰

  5. Nothing like some cold weather to spur the knitting on πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

