Holidays at work   18 comments

I work for a non-profit with little cash for things like employee moral.  We work with people who face really hard times, and so at times our work can be quite draining.  Thus, we have to make our own fun.

Each year we have a door decorating contest – prize is bragging rights only.  Last year I was housed in the Finance Division, and we created this masterpiece:

Finance door

It was great fun to do and we did win the grand prize.

This year I am in a smaller office, along a hall of similar spaces.  This is what my next door neighbor created this year.  She is a wonderfully up-beat person who always has a smile and a kind word.  The photos of tots being not so good are very funny, and I wish you could see them more clearly in this photo.  I know her clients will enjoy seeing that door.

 

image

I currently share a small over-crowded office with a big-hearted but curmudgeonly fellow who has the job of making sure we all have funding – a job that requires him to smile and be genial all day and evening long.  It is a job filled with highs and lows, frustration and moments of glory.  He and I share a dark humor that helps him smile when he really wants to say  “WTF are you thinking?” many times a day.  He is NOT into door decorating and stuff like that. He isn’t against it but has no time or energy for it.  He would give you the shirt off his back if he thought it would help, but don’t even talk to him about where to hang the tinsel.

So it was left up to me to put together a door that properly represented the two of us and our unique outlook.  Yesterday I sketched a plan, showed it to him and got a guffaw and a “go for it!”

This morning I arrived early and implemented my design.  Here it is – we won’t win any awards, but we have people who know us laughing, given that the door is a foot away from the cheerful welcoming one of our neighbor.

image

Happy holidays to you!

Posted December 9, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with , ,

18 responses to “Holidays at work

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love your winning door and the photos. Trying to get a better look at the boy hanging from the washing line – surly they’re not pegs holding him up ??

  2. Love the door! Great sense of humor.

  3. Well you made me smile and I would vote for your door!

  4. Perfect.

  5. I love the angle you took! Sometimes the grinchy point of view is the one people can relate to most!

  6. Balance in all things 🙂 Walking your workplace hallway will bring a lot of smiles to a lot of faces I expect!

  7. Damn, that’s hella cool!

  8. Love the displays. It is fun to do something outside of the ordinary once in a while. Love all the photos of the kids doing not so fun things 😉

    • I think we are pretty good at making our own fun around here. 🙂 The mastermind behind last ear’s fabulous creation has a loop of tinsel on his door knob this year. He says he “can’t put in the time” like he did last year, but somehow I don’t believe him. I think come Monday, he will be busy with cardboard and paper. 🙂

  9. sounds fun in your place of work ^^^

  10. I know it’s totally ‘off season’ now but I’m still catching up with things I’ve missed on your blog, and this post has me laughing like a drain at that final picture of the door you created to represent you and your colleagues wonderful sense of humour. I LOVE, ❤ LOVE, ❤ LOVE ❤ IT!
    ~ Cobs. x 😉

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

