flying by kind of post   19 comments

Just wanted to say that last night  I sat down on the sofa in front of a gentle fire and the even ing news with supper and knitting.  I had only one row to do on the sweater back – the cast off row, which I did post-haste.  Sweater pieces are now finished!  I’ll block them and assemble this weekend, then do the crochet edging.

I then decided to look at the hat to match.  The mom wants “one of those pointy cute hats” so I may not make the pretty one that goes with the sweater.  I decided to cast on an alternative in some other yarn to learn the pattern, when the lights went out.

That’s right.  The universe was so astounded that I met my sweater deadline a day early that it shut down the lights.

Posted November 13, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with , ,

19 responses to “flying by kind of post

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 👏

  2. Isn’t it wonderful when the universe acknowledges your achievements?

  3. Oh no, I hope you were still able to knit by the firelight! I look forward to seeing photos of the finished sweater 🙂

  4. Aw, so sorry the power went out! We have had very high winds the past 2 days here in Michigan and I am holding my breath that the power doesn’t go out here. Just have to hang in there for the rest of today and then we should be in the clear. I hope that your power is back on by now.

    • It came on a couple of hours later, yea! We were having a bit of wind and a lot of rain, but apparently the problem was at one of the stations. Not a tree or anything. I am sure the linemen were very glad.

      • So glad it is back on and you weren’t without it too long. We are so spoiled with “power”, aren’t we?

        • We sure are! Our evening routine this time of year is to sit with dinner in front of fire and TV, watch the local news, then watch a show or two that we taped the night before, while I knit away.
          We take lights, TV, pellet stove, water for granted. Since the power does go out at some point each winter, we have our systems ready to go when it happens, but it is always a shock and adjustment. We much prefer it to happen during daylight so we can get things ready for dark, but this time of year, daylight is hard to come by!

  5. Whoops, hope its on again now

  6. Well done on the sweater, but sorry to hear about the lack of light stopping you 😦

  7. LOL – reminded me of the Douglas Adams quote, “I love deadlines – and the whooshing sound they make as they go by…” 🙂

    • I like that. 🙂

      • We are in middle of high winds (only small snowfall, here in our sheltered area so far..) of our first “blizzard” of the season – pulled out my 100 hour candles, so I can read, write and plan for future – while the lights are out – LOL

        • yes, we have to get a bit more prepared – it was unexpected. Hope yoru first blizzard went well and is gone. We have had some flurries, but mostly, it is a warm autumn. Hard frost last night, but this time last year, we had already had two major snow storms. No complaints here about scraping the windshield. 🙂

  8. ROFL @ the universe! That’s hilarious!

  9. Can you knit in the dark? I’ve seen people do that in movie theaters! Good work getting the sweater done!

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

