Sunday came and went   14 comments

with no post from me…mostly because there seems to be nothing really to write about.  I feel like I am in a bit of a slump – is the change in the light?  Not sure. Anyway, I never even tried to get the book for book group, so will be skipping that this month.  Again.

This weekend was slow and steady – we went to Ellsworth Saturday morning, and I pulled a lot of my inventory out of J and B Atlantic, so I could get ready for the holiday shop in Bucksport.  I left a fair number of things in Ellsworth, of course as I don’t want to miss an opportunity for holiday shoppers!  But it saves me knitting up a storm when I don’t need to, always good.  While we were there, we ate an early lunch at Fuddrucker’s, and then did the grocery shopping at “the big store” where they have heard of unscented everything. Thank God, because we were almost out of unscented everything.

When we got home, the “laundry lady” (this week, it was A) suggested we put our pajamas on so she could wash the clothes we were wearing.  Always love when the laundry lady has a great idea!  We settled down at 2 PM in our jammies to watch TV, knit and do laundry.  At 2:30, sister-in-law L called to ask if she could stop over.  Oops!  She didn’t bat an eye to find us ready for bed. 🙂

Sunday I ran to the dump, then cleared up some of the junk from the screened porch – pile of pool equipment went down cellar, candles and other knick-knacks came in and got cleaned up.  I also cleaned a lot (but not all) of the leaves out of the pool.  From the sides, I did not get in it!  Brrrr.

That seemed like enough chores for one day, so I settled back on the couch with the knitting.

Anyone would then expect me to have made great strides in things, right?

Not so much.  I did finish a chemo hat, but as it was almost done, that is hardly anything to brag about… and I cast on the sleeves of the baby sweater I am making.  And I cast on another chemo hat – my rendition of a Hurricane hat.  But I was a lethargic knitter at best. Maybe because what I want to be casting on is a panda food cowl?  Not sure, but I didn’t let myself do it.  Sweater and hats have to get done first. The hat is in some unknown yarn mom sent over – feels like possibly alpaca, in a slightly bulky worsted weight, so the hat goes fast and I should finish it up tonight, then focus solely on the sweater until it is done.

I did take the time to go through the things I have for the Bucksport shop, and it looks like I have enough to get started, but need to add some more holiday inspired things, and some more hats.  Hard to believe I haven’t enough of those! But between Etsy, the shop in Ellsworth and the shop in Bucksport, it takes a lot to give a nice array.  Luckily, they do work up fast in bulky yarn.

I also went through the buttons I have been collecting all summer – I got some nice ones! So I am looking forward to being able to work on those things.

Procrastinated a bit on Mom’s book – we are struggling with tenses now – some things are in present, some in past.  We need to meet to talk about how she wants it to read, but I did a brief survey of memoirs on my bookcase, and found that the good ones are in the past tense.  Which means lots of careful editing.  🙂 Which means setting up a spot to work so it is easy.

Still haven’t sorted out the internet issues, and that makes me grumpy – having to be hooked up to the wall defeats the purpose of a laptop.  Which is also part of why I don’t post as often.

And as to the photos – still learning A’s camera which I confiscated.  🙂  Went to take a picture of the cats being cute today and the battery was dead.  Again.  Really?  So I charged it, but of course, the cats had long since stopped playing in the sheets of paper by the time the camera was ready, lol.

I’ll try to get some good photos of things in progress for you and post them, but as of now, you will just have to imagine them. 🙂

A worked on the bookcases for the upstairs – all but one are glued up nice and square.  The last one will wait until the first 6 are installed, so that she can make sure it really will fit in the remaining space.

What this means in my world is that I have to paint the loft, and choose a paint color for the insides of the bookcases.  The walls and ceiling of the room and outsides of the bookcases will be a very soft pale blue/gray, like all the other main rooms in the house. For the insides, I could go with the darker periwinkle blue that is the accent color in the kitchen, or I could do something totally different.  I am contemplating a bright red.  Or a bright turquoise.  Or a soft turquoise.  Or a raspberry pink-red. Or a different color in each one. You see the problem.  What do you guys think? They are plain, simple cases, unlit except for room lighting, and presumably will be filled with books. They can’t be seen from anywhere else in the house, so it should be immaterial that the room on one side is creamy yellow with periwinkle trim, and the room on the other side is pale pale pale pink (almost white) with raspberry red trim. But it might not be.

So what’s the big deal, Salpal? Just pick a color!  Well, it’s the internet’s fault. 🙂  Everyone does such cool things in their houses, or at least on their blogs, and I want to have it look perfect when we finish, because it has been SUCH a chore getting these done.

Once I choose a color, then I will think about book ends for some shelves. I’d really like some shelves NOT to be filled with books, so I need book ends to hold the books upright.  I also have pretty little things packed away that would look nice on the shelves.  I think.  Depending what color(s) I choose.

Sigh.

Yeah, I am going back onto the couch to knit a hat.  Or a sweater.  And look longingly at the half-finished sweater vest (remember it? Blue and teal?), the half-finished scarf/stole/shawl or whatever it is (remember it?  Teal and gold?), both of which had to get put aside for hat and sweater knitting, and will likely stay aside for some more hat knitting, but which I do want to finish soon…so I can cast on Panda Food… and other things that aren’t priorities anywhere but in my little knitting brain.  Which is why I spent some time looking at beads online, for a shawl I have no business thinking about.

Thanks for hanging in this long… I promise pictures and happy brightness again shortly.

OH YEAH! I almost forgot to tell you – Thursday night I thawed out the tomatoes and canned them.  Which ever one of you lovelies it was (sorry I don’t remember!) who told me to freeze them as they ripened and can them all at once – THANK YOU – brilliant idea!

I had about a gallon and a half of tomatoes, which somehow came out to 4 pints when peeled and excess water drained off.  A lot of work for a little goodness, but worth it, I think – to have my own tomatoes a few times this winter will be grand.

14 responses to “Sunday came and went

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You say the weekend was slow and steady but gosh it seems you did a ton of things. How cool to can tomatoes and have your own private stash. Look for a color scheme/palette on Pinterest or on the Design Seeds website. Unless there is a particular art or patterned rug or something to draw inspiration from.

  2. I like seeing the insides of bookshelves painted in a colour that is used in the room. Otherwise painting white, cream or some other very neutral colour works well for me. But we are all different and that is the great joy of the world 🙂 Your week sounds pretty busy to me!

    • Well, the outsides of them will be painted the wall color, and so far, that is the only color in the room, so that is why I was thinking I would punch it up a little.

  3. Is fudruckers still crazy expensive? I miss that place. Sorry you are in a slump, I try to think of little things like “how did this event make me feel?” That helps me write

  4. well it seems to me that you had plenty to write about ^^ probably so much that you didn’t know where to begin. Yes it would have been more fun with photos of cats being cute, but I’m sure they’ll oblige another time now the camera is charged up ^^ As for paint colours – take your time. With a pale blue grey in some areas plus a cream and pale pink in other parts of the house, I agree you could probably try something brighter to contrast. I don’t think I’d go for red though – it might be a bit much. A turquoise or teal green might be nice ^^

  5. I definitely see your dilemma in picking colors for the book cases. I just love color! Lovely combinations of color can be found on Design Seeds as Stefanie mentioned above. I LOVE that site and post to my pinterest daily. I told you I love color 😉 Sounds like you have been really busy for feeling like you are in a slump. I say sit on the couch and knit whatever your little heart desires. You deserve it!

    • I think it is an emotional, creative slump. I still manage to get things done that have to be – and A is a big help with that. Maybe because I am not working on the projects that I want to be working on, I have a few “must-do’ things in the creative part of my life.

  6. Having your own tomatoes through the winter is so worth all the effort. Good luck on the paint. I can dither away months deciding colors. Maybe you should think about how you want it to “feel” and then google the colors and see how they look together.

    • I do love eating my own tomatoes all year – I just need to gather more so there are enough to last until next fall! But these four pints will be delicious. I am going to have to do some real design work on this, because once it is done, I am never doing it again. I have had 7 years to think about it, you would think I would have it sorted out by now…

  7. How about spraying them with silver paint? You can buy really pretty sprays (you just need to carefully tape off the area) – even ones with glitter! – and that would add a pop of interest without changing the colour scheme wildly. Plus silver is a cool addition to anything. As is glitter, but hey, we don’t want to go wild here or anything. Or if you can’t face metallic, a contrasting neutral. I love that nude pinky beige colour that’s really popular. Or cafe au lait.
    Ok, now here’s some knitting advice. Knitting is a hobby and it needs to be fun. You should try to reassess those ‘must knit’ projects. If you’ve committed to them then fair enough, you need to get them done, but when they’re done, do you need to do more? You’re at work enough hours of the day! I speak from experience, I’ve learned the hard way. Xx

    • Ooooh, silver… hadn;thought of that one. A bit of shimmer to the blue/gray thing we have going. I’ll add it to the mix.

      Knitting for fun vs work. You are right. I know it. I get so excited when I sell something that it makes me forget that I don’t like pressure knitting. 🙂 I really do have to finish the sweater (and should be able to with some concentrated knitting) in the next few weeks. The chemo hats are done, for now. I might make her another one later on. So I think if I get at it, the knitting world will improve soon. Knitting hats, etc for sale is not so bad, now that I know I have things to put in the shop from day one. I can usually knit a hat in an evening, so I can keep the inventory fresh, once I get pas the sweater. Thanks fro calming me down and encouraging me. 😉

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

