Sunday update   14 comments

I hope you aren’t looking for photos – I took some, but the camera is across the room, and well, I am not.

Amazingly enough, I got things DONE this weekend.  You know I always have ambitious lists that take me days longer to accomplish than I hoped, but this weekend I somehow got everything on the to-do list done!

Of course, there are things that weren’t on it that maybe should have been, but they aren’t going anywhere, right?

It is mostly yard work – yesterday I got up early and “planted” the bushel of daylilies my sister-in-law S gave me a few weeks ago.  How I did it – NOT how the master gardener would suggest, but they are daylilies – hard to hurt them, right?  I scraped out a shallow trough in the sand and gravel under the satellite dish, laid them out haphazardly, not breaking up the clumps of roots at all.  Then, I gathered the bags of garden and potting soil that have accumulated around the yard for my projects, and dumped them on top of the plants.  I raked it smooth, watered it (crazy to water after last week, but I know I needed to settle the soil around the roots) and called it done.  Now there is a mound of soil between the dish and the little bulb garden. I hope it will someday be a mound of beautiful daylilies.  Someday, I will dig them up and thin them and plant them and their offspring properly.

Then I got all cleaned up pretty (wore one of my Indian Feather shawls) and went with A and her sister S to their aunt’s 90th surprise birthday party, which was quite nice.  Her sons put it on, and so we got to see/meet them and their extended families, and also see Cousin C and re-meet her son H whom I haven’t seen in probably ten years, since he was in school.  He is all grown up with a lovely girlfriend who braved the event.  A’s mom’s family once had ten children, now there are 4, this aunt is the oldest remaining of the gang, and sadly the other three have dementia in one stage or another. A has cousins she is pretty sure she has never met, certainly not seen in 30 years.  Cousins she would not know if she saw them on the street – an odd thing to imagine! But N, the youngest of this aunt’s boys, and C, the daughter of another aunt, are two whom she does see occasionally, so even I would know them if I saw them.  🙂

A drove, so I knit a swatch for my next project, which is a Charleston baby sweater and hat, and matching mittens for a woman who works with A. Glad I took the time, because as always, my knitting and recommended gauge are quite different.  The “baby” is 2 and a half, so bigger than the largest pattern size.  I will knit it on bigger needles, but knit the 12month size.  I think that this will mean fewer rows, so it will get done faster, and the fabric will have a nice drape.  It is Madeline Tosh Light in a color called composition book gray, which has definite purple tones to it.  It is going to be quite pretty, I think.  Not your typical baby garment – yea! I washed the swatch when we got home, so was able to cast on the two fronts this morning. I always knit the sleeves and fronts of a cardigan at the same time so that they are the same – much easier to get the decreases in the same place if you do them together.  Of course, it feels like you are making no progress whatsoever until suddenly you are done. It is also nice to do this when I have whole skeins to work from – if I do them at the end, I am always running out on one side or the other and having odd amounts left on the skeins when I am finished.  This way, I will use up any leftovers on the back and have all my leftovers in one skein, not two partial ones.

Then it as back out into the yard. I harvested the carrots (there is a photo of the colander full of orange goodness on the camera.  You should see how pretty! And you will, someday.)  I will probably make curried carrot soup with them this week sometime for the freezer. They were the last thing to come in from the garden, so I began the process of getting ready for fall.  The asparagus bed is now cut back and ready for mulch.  I put a bag of compost on it after I cut it back, so it should be happy next spring!  I also put a bag of compost in the bed where the carrots were, and planted a whole lot of garlic in there.  Let’s see if I do a better job of growing that next year than I did this year!  I will get a bale of straw mulch, and mulch the asparagus, garlic and those crazy strawberries with it.  That will hopefully happen this week.

The strawberries are the bane of my existence.  I fixed them a special raised bed several years ago, and made sure they got very good soil, straw mulch in the fall, fresh straw in the spring, and for years got very few, very small berries.  Last year I decided enough is enough, I could use that ground for something that grew better and produced more.  So I didn’t mulch them last fall, nor this spring.  But I never got around to ripping them out.

We had the best strawberries ever this spring! And you should see the plants now, they are tall and healthy looking. So I will give them some straw mulch and another year before I think of ripping again.  🙂

I also scooped leaves and debris from the pool without getting in it – a bit chilly for wading today.  It is awkward to do from the edges but I can if I work at it.

That and a few other raking/weeding chores got done, and now I am on the couch with a laptop, and wondering why I didn’t bring myself a beverage and a snack before I sat down?  And the camera?

A is off playing golf this sunny day – probably the last time this season, but maybe not if it stays nice.  You never know.  🙂 She traveled a whole lot the last two weeks, but will be home all week, so I think the house will get worked on in the evenings.  Someone needs to really clean it, and I am afraid it has to be us.  😦

Next weekend I am heading off to Pennsylvania with Mom and niece B – we are going to visit B’s sister C at college, and give B a day or two at home with her mom and dog, which I think she will welcome.  She has had a tough month of start to her semester. I haven’t seen C in so long, it will be nice to see her and where she goes to school.  Lot of driving, though, good thing we have Monday off to be lazy.

A begged off the trip with the promise that she would finish building the bookcases for the loft – have I ever written that those were going to get done imminently?  Lol, I know I have.  But I think that she really means it this time.  I hope so – although it means I have to paint the room they go in, and then them as well.  But if we can get that loft done and the books unpacked, it will feel amazing!

That’s about it, I think – it’s very fall-like out there today, but most of the leaves are still green and on the trees – amazing!  I do hope they fall before the first snow flies though, or there will be lots of damage, and we don’t want to start winter that way. Heck, I don’t really want to start winter at all.  I hope we have a nice, long fall. And an early spring.  🙂

14 responses to “Sunday update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very productive. Gardening is hard work. Have a safe and fun trip.

  2. you’re so organized. I finally got around to unclogging the bathroom sink after water was still sitting in it an hour later. If it’s nice tomorrow I’m going to think about harvesting seeds while I knit the border around Dad’s Blanket.

    • rotfl! organized I am NOT. It was a nice day and I wanted to put the gardens to bed right this year. I did not want to clean the bathroom or deal with slow drains or vacuum or rearrange the living room for winter or any of the household chores that need doing. I will pay for that choice this week, but it was nice to be outside, and I will be glad in the spring that I took the time. Let me know what you think about harvesting seeds. 🙂 And I can’t wait to see the blanket – borders – that is a good thing! The end is in sight.

  3. families are a handful, but grateful none the less to have them. 🙂 Glad you got a lot done.

  4. That first paragraph made me laugh. I’m right with you – if it isn’t to hand it isn’t happening! Hearing about your garden makes me feel exhausted – I know I have to cut back some of my bushes but well, there are other things to do… Maybe I can persuade Mum to help me. I have the answer to chores though – I pay my nephew and niece. 😉 My niece made a beautiful job if hoovering & tidying the sitting room!

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

