Can’t get home   22 comments

This summer there have been crazy fires out west, and when they show the stories on the news, I always think about “what would I take if I had to suddenly leave home, and didn’t know if it would be here when I could get back?”  I have a mental list.  It includes, of course, the cats, and some knitting and then it kind of gets lost in the weeds.

But it never occurred to me to think what I would do if I could not get home.

That happened to me Wednesday.  It was only for a couple of hours, but it was scary!

It rained.  It rained a lot.

We got almost ten inches of rain in 12 hours, and that was just more than the ditches and culverts could bear.  As a result, when I tried to go home from work, I could almost but not quite get there.  There are two roads we can take to get to our little lane.  Both of them had washouts so severe that they were closed. I couldn’t really wrap my head around it, and checked them both twice.  How could I not get home?

What was almost worse was that I could not get to any friend or family member that I could think of in those moments of disbelief.  So many roads were closed!  I COULD drive the 20 miles back to work, but I hesitated to do that in case the road washed out and I couldn’t get this close to home again.

So I went to the fire station and waited there, watching the map get more and more pins in it showing road closures. I listened to the dispatcher talk to firemen on the scene in so many locations – directing traffic, getting people out of their cars, waiting for tow trucks to get the cars out of the water. Learning of more road closures. How could so many roads be closed?  Where would people go who could not get home from work?

I couldn’t get home to make sure that HOME was OK, that the cats were fine.  I knew in my head that the cats were asleep and didn’t know anything unusual was happening, but in my heart, I was terrified for them.  What if I couldn’t get home for a few days? They had some dry food but not enough for a long absence. I could call the neighbor, but how would they get in the house?

It was a long wait, but eventually the road crews got one of the roads cleaned up and repaired enough to be passable.  I headed for home, and found that all was well.  Our lane was in rough shape but with care, I could get down it.  My house was warm, safe, and dry.  Power was on, cats were sleeping peacefully by the window. They never noticed I was late.  Or if they did, it didn’t alarm them.

It sure alarmed me!

Posted October 2, 2015 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with , ,

22 responses to “Can’t get home

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my! What an experience. Glad you had the firestation to hang out at and glad your home and cats were okay.

  2. Gosh, just makes you realise how much we take for granted. So glad there was a happy ending to this drama.

  3. Glad you made it home. Stay safe!

  4. That must’ve been terrifying! Like you, I’d probably worry more about my cats than anything else. It sounds like you were very smart in the way you handled everything. Now, maybe your neighbor should have a key to your house?

    • It was scary, as it sunk in. I did nto think they would be able to repair those roads so fast – there was literally nothing there but rushing water. the pavement and dirt and culvert were all washed out. They did the easier one first, and just finished the harder one Friday..

  5. Wow, you handled that really well. I would never have thought of seeking a firehouse. We missed the heavy rain, we’re just getting the normal amount. Glad everything worked out in the end and that you and the kitties are safe. I don’t know that I would have been calm enough to wait in a fire station. I’d have probably hyperventilated.

    • Thanks! I am not sure I decided to go the firehouse so much as got to the town office and couldn’t think of where else to go. The firehouse is on the same road. There was really no where else to go, it is not like we have a store in town or anything. 🙂

  6. oh! Such a smart thing to have stopped at the fire station for safety. Great lesson there! Glad you found all safe and sound.

    • Thanks, I am also very glad. Our town is so small and rural that all we have is a PO, a town office and a fire station. The PO and town office were closed, there were vehicles at the fire house, so I stopped. If I lived in a bigger town, I am not sure I would have thought of it. 🙂 But the towns where we do go shopping, and where I might have gotten cup of coffee or something were all on the other side of flooded roads.

  7. wow, that was an experience… Glad you are safe and those cats – had no idea what went on in your mind!

  8. Poor you. Its not nice to get stuck like that. 😦 One feels so very helpless and useless. You know doing nothing and staying out of the way of the service people is the best you can do, yet your heart tells you differently. We have had a couple of floodings here on the way home, and I just have to take a detour, but that takes forever as everyone is taking the detour.
    I am so glad you got home safely and your kitties were just fine. They are such calm creatures. Take care.

    • You nailed it – finding a safe place to stay out of the way of people doing hard work in bad conditions is the best thing. And of course, you feel helpless and useless, and like there must be something different that you can do.
      I hope we are done with that for a while – and I will be more prepared when I hear the next rain storm is coming. 🙂 As I am in the winter – I always have a blanket and a change of clothes with me then, I should do the same thing now. 🙂

      • We think very alike. I always have a blanket and dry clothes in the car. Not to mention a big bottle of fresh drinking water and a flashlight. Just in case, one never knows.
        I am very glad all turned out well, and you are all good again. Rainy weather are nice, when you are home. 🙂 Not On the Way home. Lets hope the next one is far away for a while.
        Take care.

  9. Oh how scary! I am glad you made it home safely. Your neck of the woods sure has had a time of it with crazy bad weather the last year. Glad all is well and hope it remains that way with the after effects of Jaoquin still coming

    • Jaoquin has decided to not spend any time here this week – he is just sitting around the mid-Atlantic creating havoc, then he will go off across the sea. It IS crazy weather though – and I guess we will have to expect more of it as the climate changes, for better or worse.

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

