September Mornings   16 comments

Colour Cottage asked us to post our September dawns.

Mine is spent commuting 5 days a week, and so here are a few shots (one of which you have seen) of how dawn looked to me this September.

We had river fog:

image

and clouds

image

and a little less fog

image

But I also got these shots a few minutes later when I stopped to release a chipmunk. (Have I mentioned I have a squirrel/chipmunk/mouse relocation program going on?  I have moved 6 varmints this week alone!) These were taken at Toddy Pond, and I didn’t move – just shot one, turned a few degrees, shot again.  Interesting what the different light angles do to the colors!

image

image

No shots today, it is too dark and rainy.  A lot like night around here today.

I wonder what October dawns will look like?

Posted September 30, 2015 by salpal1 in What I love

Tagged with ,

16 responses to “September Mornings

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fab!

  2. Nice. The third photo looks like watercolor behind real life. Relocation program? You have traps then?

    • That is just the light through the trees and fog – and a phone instead of a camera, of course. 🙂 Yes, I have some traps I set each day, and then I take the critters far far away from my house. I know they might not survive there, since they have no nests or food stored, but I figure they do have a CHANCE to survive.

  3. Beautiful mornings 🙂

  4. Awesome shots and views. Thank you for sharing. 🙂 Lovely to see your part of the world as well.
    Good for you and the relocation programme, that is tremendous. Always love to hear when small creatures are happy and being looked after. Thank you. 🙂

    • Love showing you what it is like here. As for the creatures – not so sure they are well looked after – I take them to a woodsy spot near a pond, and hope for the best – that they stay away from my house and live a good life. Tired of hearing the patter of little feet in ceilings and walls all winter!

  5. Great photos. Nothing so wonderful as that here. I’m a big fan of relocation programs. Of course for me that means taking the little darlings out of the house and moving the up to the barn where they turn around and follow me back down and into the house. But I can’t bear to take them too far away from the area they know.

    • lol – that is why I take them several miles down the road! I do not want them following me home.

      I can’t believe you have nothing this wonderful there – you have a pond, and great blues and a garden! I think you are just used to looking at it. 🙂

      • Our area is very hilly. We don’t see open vistas. Our view is stopped by the next hill or curve. We don’t get to see fog because we are in it.

        • hmmm. We are hilly, but our roads are mostly straight shots, so when you get to the top of the hill, you can see stuff. Usually more hills. 🙂 But there is something to be said for the windy curvy roads that hide secrets. 🙂 Always a surprise around the corner.

  6. The photos are beautiful! I’ve been meaning to take shots for Pia’s challenge, too–keep forgetting!

    • Well, obviously, I only think of it when I am sitting in the car waiting for the red light at the bridge construction! Luckily, we have had some pretty mornings there.

  7. Hey, I love this idea and want to participate ! Love your September dawns!

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

