half a Friday list   10 comments

Sneaking this in – I’ll only be working half a day today, so I put together a short little list for this afternoon.

I will hit the grocery store on the way home, and the PO.  Company coming for the weekend!  My niece from college again.  We have a big event to draw her to us this time, plus of course, free washer, dryer, quiet room and good food.  🙂

Once home I plan to tidy her room which might not be the way she left it.  🙂

I’ll also tidy the living room and dining table, as I seem to have smeared my way around the house this week.  After that, it is knitting and visiting with her while we make lasagna.

A will be home late, but I am sure B and I will fill the time while we wait for her!  A few games, some good food, and possibly the last swim of the season.

brrrrr

2015-CGCF-Postcard-border-240px

This weekend is the Common Ground Fair “celebrating rural life” put on by MOFGA (Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association.) Niece B has never been, but wants to be a farmer, loves her chickens, and misses all of her pets, so it will be a fun day.  I of course will get some yarn.  And hopefully lots of photos.  I can’t even begin to explain to you the fibery goodness of this fair, and it isn’t even a fiber festival!  there is just so much that is amazing at this thing, I wish I didn’t get exhausted halfway through it. I’ll show you the photos and tell you what was great about it when I write next week.

Sunday will be chores, I am guessing, since they have to get doe sometime, right?  I want to get a bed ready to accept garlic, which should be planted any time now.  And check and see if my little pumpkin is ready to be picked – it is all orange now, but how do I know it is really ready?  I have no clue, but will wing it.  🙂 I’ll put the asparagus to bed for the winter as well.  Lots to do, might not get it all done this weekend.  Or this life time.

What are you doing this first weekend of fall?

Posted September 25, 2015 by salpal1 in how I plan to spend my day, What I love

Tagged with , , , ,

10 responses to “half a Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a lovely way to spend your weekend. I am planting some bulbs in the garden and freezing some apples.

  2. Sounds like you have a busy weekend planned. I hope all goes well and you can cross everything off of your list. I am going to try to get my Spice Of Life CAL started today and probably work on that and maybe some cross stitch this weekend. It is a free weekend for me, so anything can happen 🙂

  3. Your weekend sounds like it’s full of fun things. I’m jealous over your pumpkin. Due to the dearth of rain here our pumpkins never made it, even though we tried to water them every chance we got. A pumpkin is ready to be picked when it comes off the vine fairly easily, or whenever you think it is the size you want. What do I plan to do this weekend? 🙂 Blanket knitting, but I’m sure I’ll find some alternate trouble to get into.

    • I picked the small pumpkin, and it sits in it’s little orange glory on the table. 🙂 I am sorry you didn’t get any. I am not sure why I can’t grow squash and pumpkins, but I can’t so this small one is a true victory! Blanket knitting sounds good – did the yarn arrive? Right color? Can’t wait to read about the trouble you got into this weekend?

  4. I really like how your niece loves spending time with you and B. The fair sounds fun.

    • Ahh, the fair! It was fun. My niece had never been, so it was great having her with us. We do love having her around this semester. It took her until her senior year to figure out we are fun. Oh well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

