Sorry to keep you hanging…   10 comments

Here’s what I did on Sunday:

I changed the bed and washed, dried, folded and put away the sheets.  This is important because apparently I am famous for washing and drying the sheets, but leaving them in the dryer. I took the extra step of finishing the job, in spite of how tired and lacking in motivation I was.  🙂

I polished my toenails – metallic burgundy for upcoming fall. This felt like a huge accomplishment.

I knit a bit on all projects.  I ordered yarn for the toddler sweater. Tosh light in a lovely gray named Composition Book Gray.  It will have pink ribbons and buttons.

I watched one episode of the Roosevelts (in which Franklin creates the New Deal, and Eleanor begins to find her role) and a mess of Grey’s Anatomy episodes – only two seasons to go to be caught up.

I patted the cats.

I napped.

I didn’t even scoop a leaf out of the pool.  I was the slowest slug I have been in a long time, but it worked and I was able to get up Monday morning ready to face the week.

Until A said “There’s no hot water.  Will you call the plumber?”  Oh, yes, I think I will.  Who wants cold showers?  Luckily we were not out of propane, so I boiled water for washing, and head off to work just a little cold and grumpy.

And got 1/4 mile down the road when one of my idiot lights in the car came on.  I pulled over and looked it up, because there are two that look very similar, and one means “STOP!!!!!  THE CAR IS ABOUT TO EXPLODE!!!” and the other means “oh, by the way, your tire pressure is a little low, and you might want to check on that.”

Luckily it was the latter, and I had no flat tires, so I drove on to work, and had the mechanic here fill the tires.  All 4 were a little low, likely because of the change in temperature this week.

So by the time I got to my desk, I was out of sorts and cold and needed my coffee.  🙂

I was glad to get through the day and know there are only 4 more of them.  Plus, I get a half day off Friday because I worked an extra half day last week.  Yahoo!

I did call the plumber, they did fix the hot water.

Today is a better day already.

Posted September 22, 2015 by salpal1 in how I spent my day

Tagged with , , ,

10 responses to “Sorry to keep you hanging…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just love all the little emergency lights that can come on in a car. Going down a highway at 60 mph and up pops the light with it’s cryptic symbol. My question is always, what do you want me to do about it now? Why does it never happen in a parking lot, or better yet in the driveway, some place where I can attend to it better.

    • Now what fun would that be? I found it interesting that I pulled right over on my little country lane, hit the flashers, turned off the car and dug out the book. My neighbors all passed by on their way to work, the school bus came, etc. No one stopped to see if I was OK. Wouldn’t; you wonder what was up if someone so close to home was by the side of the road? It is not like I was lost. I was glad to miss the school bus, of course. 🙂

  2. Oh yes I know all about the horrid little lights!! You made me smile
    Have a lovely hot bath tonight!

  3. OMGosh, there is a car light for the car’s about to explode? I’m glad it wasn’t that one for you. Yes, they can come on at the most inconvenient times. Glad you were safe.

    • lol OK perhaps I exaggerated. I think the other light means that there is something wrong with the brakes, and to stop immediately. I was happy it was the tire pressure light.

  4. there are days like that ^^
    glad you got the plumber sorted

    • me, too! That plumbing business is very good to us, they always fit us in when things go south. Of course, they also are quick to bill, but I guess that is part of the deal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

