Ta-da! A Friday list!   2 comments

It’s been a long time, I know, but it’s vacation time!  A and I have all next week off, and we also scheduled Friday off.  But then she had to go meet a client for a few hours, so really, I am the only one with a vacation day today.

I was contemplating what to do with al of this time, and realized I could at long last write a Friday list so you all could join me in the glory of a free day.  🙂

Since A has to work, we both are up early, as usual.  But I can take my coffee and sit on the porch and enjoy the morning and write for you guys.

Then I have to get moving.  I need to clean the guest room and make the bed, because niece B is spending the weekend.  She will get here some time late this afternoon, her last class gets out at 2.  I expect there will be some pool swimming when she arrives, she hates the heat and loves to swim as much as I do.

I also should give her bathroom a swipe, and get the laundry moving.  A did some earlier this week, but there is always more where that came from. And I bet that B will be bringing her laundry with her, she is a smart girl.

The PO.  The grocery shopping – just a few extra things for my girl to eat. She *might* anticipate that we will feed her.

I might do a bit of porch sweeping, and then I want to head upstairs.  This week while we are on vacation, I want to get some sewing done, and before that can happen, I need to clear off the table in the craft room.  It has been so long since I was up there that I can’t remember what is smeared across it.  But that is why I love the craft room – it is OK to smear and go.  🙂

I also expect to soak and block the shawl I finished last week, so I can take photos for you.  A said I can use her camera, if I can find it and charge it.  So I guess I will take the photos with the phone, lol.

This will likely fill the day and then some.  It will feel good to have this kind of time to do things, even laundry.

I have other things I hope to get done this vacation, but several years ago we stopped making ambitious vacation to-do lists.  Every time we did, someone got sick or died or broke an ankle. So now we make “project lists” and on mine for this week, in addition to the sewing, are things like washing some windows, doing a bit of cleaning.  Also, I want to make some frames to protect the shrubs from falling snow this winter.  I have an idea, using a couple of 2 x 4’s and old pallets.  A thinks it won’t work, so I hope to try it this week.  If not, we have a load of pallets to take to the dump for recycling.  But if it works, I will recycle them in my own front yard.

Crimson Crow has a bookcase for us, and I hope to get it (and she hopes so too) this week.  I’ll make a few cosmetic changes to it, and hope to get it set up with my cook books so they can get off the stair landing. But I might not finish it this week, it depends what else goes on.

Monday is a day for visiting Mom and going for a sail.  Tuesday is a day for staying home waiting for the man to service the pellet stove and clean the chimney. And sewing or knitting, I would guess.

A wants to have an excursion to a golf course somewhere that she doesn’t usually play, and I hope it will be near some cool shopping or a yarn shop.  But if not, I will drive the cart and knit.

And of course, visiting with B and playing games will fill this weekend.

Looks like fun times ahead!

So many things planned and in our heads to do, and only a week to do them! But no to-do list after today.  Only a project list.

2 responses to “Ta-da! A Friday list!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are full of boundless energy. I am sure you will enjoy your week off. Love the pallet idea. Hope it works.

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

