Real progress!   16 comments

Yesterday I made a big push and finished digging out the pool area!

image

This morning I got up early and spread the sand around before the sun hit the area. Next up is leveling and compacting. Which should be done this week. I hope we are setting up the pool next weekend!

No sign of snakes, hurrah!

here are a few shots of the gardens, I haven’t shown you in a while.

image

Tomatoes are looking good, but peas are awful this year.

image

image

Posted August 2, 2015 by salpal1 in how I spent my day, how it came out, what I am making

Tagged with ,

16 responses to “Real progress!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your peppers look awesome. I forget… Will you have a pool above ground level since you have this sand to level and compact here.

    • Yes, the pool is above ground. I really can’t wait! Those are plum tomatoes, by the way – great for sauces and things. I hope to get enough t make it worthwhile to can them. 🙂

  2. Looking good! You’re almost there. Having the rock clearing finally done has to feel good.

    • OMG, yes! It has been such an awful, endless chore. And having three rainy weekends really slowed me down. But now everything I have left to do can be done wither it is dry or not. I hope to level and tamp this week so I can set it up this weekend.

  3. We’ve been hearing about this pool for a long time! It will be nice to finally see it in action! 😉

  4. Going to love seeing your progress. It looks very nice already. It is so lovely and green out your way!

    • Thanks! Yes, it is very green – it has been a summer with plenty of rain, most weeks. Then I have my own little gravel pit in the midst of it all. Someday the whole yard will be beautifully landscaped. I like to think it will be easier to do all of that work when I can hop in the pool to cool off while I am working. 🙂

      • You are so lucky. It is so pretty. Our garden is a bit gray at the moment, being mid winter. But normally our summer garden is pretty green. 😦 No pool though. Just grass and trees and flowers and plants. Great idea to work on it yourself, so much more satisfying.

        • Well, when we are buried under powdery white stuff, you have a lovely green garden. So I guess it all comes out even, right? And it is nice to look at photos of the other half of the world and see what things are like.

          It is satisfying to do the work myself, and makes it ever so much more affordable, but I wish it didn’t take 2 years! I miss swimming. Can’t wait to get it set up and filling.

          • That is the one thing we dont have much off, the powdery white stuff. Not that I would mind. It always looks so very pretty. Although I know its messy afterwards.
            I also enjoy looking at other’s photos to see their part of the world, and see what they are getting up to. 🙂
            Will be looking out for your future posts and pics, am positive it will be soon now. 🙂

          • Thanks – I hope it will be soon! If I could send you some snow, I would. 🙂

  5. I hope summer it going to stay good so that you get plenty of use out this new pool after all your hard work!

  6. I heard having a pool was hefty work. Goodness I hope you are resting too.

    • it certainly is tough GETTING it! But once it is set up, I enjoy the work of cleaning it and keeping the chemicals balanced. It’s peaceful out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

