Full of photos of yard and needle work   10 comments

I’ll start with the finished objects.  I am amazed at how many there really are!  Two shawls – Leftie, just finished today – still on the needles here, as yet unblocked, but already well loved.  This is the yarn I dyed myself.  Lots left, I am thinking about a sweater….

leftie-close-up

leftie-on-the-needles-1

And Indian Feathers, which I finished a while ago, but just got photos of.  It is pouring rain, so they are inside shots.  The close up is pretty accurate, color-wise. The beads are there, but as I mentioned before, too small for the pattern.

indian-feathers--for-web

indian-feathers-close-up

Another Indian feathers – this one, 1/3 the size of the original.  Also, larger beads, and more of them.  Still unblocked, but I think it will be big enough to be a small cowl.  I think I will wind up adding buttons to it.

noro-indian-feathers-unblocked

The trapper cowl – I am pleased with how it came out – very warm and cozy.  I think it is a Christmas present, but I might keep it.  Or just make another one….

trapper-cwl-complete

That’s the lot of finished items – I’ll have socks done for you this week I think.  And maybe cast on another shawl.  Or a sweater. Or both?  Who knows?

Next up the yard.  This is for you, Kepanie.  I know I have confused you all with my endless pool project – here’s how it works (and why it is endless!)

Here’s the area the pool will be in eventually:

where-the-pool-will-be-1

where-the-pool-will-be-3

where-the-pool-will-be-2

So, I need to clear a circle, 20 feet across, and make sure it has no rocks, is just sand.  Here’s how I do that.

I dig down into the rocky sand about a shovel’s depth (which often takes several tries to get, because it is rocky!) and put it into the sieve on the wheelbarrow.

how-i-do-it-8

how-i-do-it-2

how-i-do-it-1

Then, using a rock (it took wearing out the fingers of several pairs of gloves to think of using a rock, not my hand) I sift the sand from the rocks.

how-i-do-it-3

When I am done, I am left with a wheelbarrow full of sand and a sieve full of rocks.

how-i-do-it-4

I dump the rocks in the other wagon, and the sand on the cleared ground, to later be spread and leveled.

how-i-do-it-6

how-i-do-it-5

how-i-do-it-7

Then, I take the wagon of rocks over to the place where I am putting in the path.  Dump them, shovel out some sand if need be (about every other load of rocks, I need to excavate some more sand, but it is easy digging – no rocks!) and take that back over to the pool area.

pebble-path-6-14

All of my work is supervised by Zumba, who just doesn’t get it.  Lots of people don’t get it.  But When I have a pool to swim in, I will be a very happy person.  Luckily, it hasn’t really gotten hot yet, so I am not worried that I am missing prime swimming weather.  🙂

Zumba-supervising-6-14

Here are some other shots of the crazy place I call a yard.

wygelia

The wygelia is in bloom – it did not mind being under 5 feet of snow this winter!  Well, perhaps it did – it is a funny shape this year.  🙂 But it is blooming like mad.

lupine-6-14

Here is the lupine by the driveway, spreading nicely to fill in the space between driveway and woods.

deck-in-summer

Here is a shot of that deck I love so much except in the midst of a snowy winter. It is sunny all morning, then has increasing shade in the afternoon – a lovely spot to eat dinner.

Speaking of winter – remember this shot?

house in snow

Yeah, I know, I try not to, too.

Here it is now –

house-in-summer

Much better!

The raised beds are coming along – these photos are already a couple of weeks old, I forgot to take some yesterday.

garden-4-6-14

Tomatoes and yellow squash, with some marigolds.  Tomatoes have blossoms on them now!

garden-3-6-14

Strawberries, which I ignored this season, are producing the most they ever have.  I will dig out a lot of them this fall, though, they take up too much real estate for the amount they produce (we have had three so far.  🙂 )

garden-2-6-14

Radishes, carrots, peas, lettuce and pumpkins.  Radishes are up, but not getting round. Peas are up and looking ready to bud, but not growing tall because a deer keeps trimming them. Carrots are up, but not very well.  I will likely reseed them when the radishes are done.  Lettuce not up at all, I’ll reseed that as well.  Pumpkins are up and growing.

Garden-1-June-14

Sister-in-law L’s garden – cilantro, beans, carrots, all seem to be happy!  As are the volunteer morning glories.  It looks nice and lush in her square.  🙂

So that is it off the camera.  It piles up quickly!

This week is going to be a fun one – first off – Friday is a holiday!  So only 4 days of work.  I like that… Tuesday I have my very first ever spinning lesson!  I am going to learn how to spin on a drop spindle, and hope that I love it and that a spindle will keep me happy for many years, because I have seen the price of wheels.  Yikes.  Can’t wait to share with you what happens when I  try spinning.  🙂

Sister in law L’s son D and his wife A are back in the USA after two years in Madagascar.  They will be around this week, and we will be so excited to see them, and get to know A better. I am hoping for good weather all week so I can continue to make progress on that sandy project, but if it rains, I can sit and spin and knit. And think about how happy I am this week with SCOTUS.  And how pleased I am at how YOUNG my favorite justices are. They will be on that court for a long time to come.

So that is what I am up to at this moment.  All exciting, I know!

10 responses to “Full of photos of yard and needle work

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank thou for taking the time to post these pictures! I understand now. That is a lotta work! I can’t wait to see the next phase. Your FO’s are terrific.

  2. What a lot of accomplishments! I cannot believe the amount of work you’re doing for the pool–I hope the payoff is worth it! And, yes, three cheers for the SCOTUS.

  3. You sure have had a busy, productive week! All of your finished pieces are beautiful. Your hand dyed yarn looks fabulous in that shawl! Can’t wait to see what you use the rest of it for. You are working very hard for a pool. I hope that all the work is done quickly so that you can swimming soon! Your gardens will be producing yummy veggies! Nothing like home grown veggies.

  4. Your beautiful lupines are killing me. They just won’t grow here. Love the shawls. Our lettuces and spinach have done amazingly well to the point we have too much. The pool is going to be amazing when it gets in. All those beautiful rocks! Have you thought of painting any of them? (She asks as if you don’t have enough to do).

    • Never thought of painting them! I do bring big pretty ones in for doorstops, though. Sorry about the lupine, but you can relax, they are almost gone by.

  5. I love the Indian Feathers especially. Your yard looks awesome too!

  6. I can NOT believe how much work you have accomlished – inside and out of your house! That’s scary 🙂

    • Don’t be scared – the yard work has literally taken years. I just chip away at it. the blog and photos help keep me motivated, because they show the progress I have made over time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

