All sorts of pretty   9 comments

Here are the illustrations for my last post. 🙂

Some things in the garden are blooming – bulbs in their second year (sorry about the blurriness), and a bleeding heart transplanted from mom’s garden last fall. And in case you don’t believe me when I say we live on a complete pile of gravel in the woods, some of these photos will prove it.  🙂 the raised beds are the ones L and I planted last weekend – my radishes and lettuce are already up!  Mine is the bed on the right, L’s is on the left.  I’ll post progress photos as the summer goes on.

daffies-and-muscari-for-web

blurry-garden-for-web

bleeding-heart-for-web

yard-1-for-web

Here are a couple of shots of that gorgeous morning we had a few days ago.  This is the same deck that was buried for months in snow – I sure like it better like this! (And Kepanie, that is a cherry tree blooming beside the deck.  I will try to get some photos of the wild pear trees this weekend – they are almost gone by.) Isn’t that morning sky gorgeous?

cherry-in-morning-for-web

morning-sky-for-web

A gratuitous cat photo – Allie loves climbing up into the porch rafters and racing around. But she was a good girl and posed nicely on one of her perches.  🙂

Allie-on-porch-for-web

Yarn I dyed – three skeins of varying shades of teal/blue.  Each is about 3 ounces.  Not sure what they will be yet, but I have some ideas – maybe at long last, the leftie shawl?

three-skeins-for-web

I let the teal “dry” outside, but it rained.  Still, I think it looked beautiful in the mist.

teal-for-web

And now, some finished products –

one of the endless scarves – this one needs to get mailed out this week, so I am glad I made it in time.  You can just see the beads in this photo, but you can feel them in the weight of it.  This is a silk alpaca blend, in colors that shift softly from terra-cotta to lavender – like a sunrise.  I hope she likes it.

christina's-scarf-on-rail-for-web

christina's-scarf-for-web

And the KAL lace shawl – my second one, but the one I started first – the color is called International Gothic – sounds mysterious!  But it is from a local shop, One Lupine in Bangor.  Very soft and lovely lace.  I thin I will keep this one.  (the other KAL shawl, a green/blue/gold boucle is for sale at J and B Atlantic in Ellsworth if you want to buy it, let me know!)

purple-shawl-blocked-for-web

This is a little experiment that went well – silk and bead I cord bracelet.  I am going to list it on Etsy later this weekend, so look for it!

purple-bracelet-for-web

That’s all that is on the camera this week.  I’ll clean it off for you again next week.

This weekend is a holiday weekend, which we are both grateful for – an extra day off together is always good.  Today we did a few chores in the morning, then went to Bangor to meet A’s family for lunch to celebrate sister-in-law S’s 65th birthday  S’s daughter T, her husband J, son S, and daughter E joined us, as well as sister-in-law L.  We had a nice lunch and got to visit with the “kids” both of whom have big graduations this year – S got his associates degree, and will continue at the University this fall headed for a bachelor’s degree in Accounting, and E finishes high school this year.  She will head off to the local community college in the fall, working toward a nursing degree.   Seems like they were just little kids a few minutes ago.

Tomorrow we head down the coast to A’s cousin’s for a picnic, then maybe we will stop on the way home so A can play a round of golf while I knit.  🙂

No plans at  all for Monday, but much yard work to do!

9 responses to “All sorts of pretty

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an interesting backyard environment you have. How cool to have a cherry tree right by your deck. The dye job is terriffic!

    • Oh, yeah, interesting! It is a new construction and so far all of our financial resources have gone into structures. Someday I hope to be able to get the yard really done. But the cherry trees along the deck are very welcome volunteers.

  2. Beautiful. The dyed yarns are wonderful. What was the yarn used for the scarf that went from terra cotta to lavender? I’m loving the bracelet.

    slippedstitches
    • thank you! the yarn for the scarf is classic elite silky alpaca lace, in color number 2456. Not sure if they still make it or not, I got it on a deep sale at a local yarn store. But I have one skein left if you want it, it is yours.

  3. I am pleased it’s getting warmer for you and the flowers are starting to bloom. I cannot believe the amount of your creative creations! Have you got more than 24hrs in your day? And please give me a hint how you dyed those yarns (eg website?) – they look exquisite. That is my next project – I got 3 skeins of cream lace weight and I want to dye before knitting… I must do that tutorial on half circle skirts for you, sorry, I am just so busy with work and family at the moment.

    • no worries on the tutorial – I understand busy! Not sure I have time to sew right now anyway. 🙂 I’ll write a post on my yarn dying for you – it is far from scientific, and unlikely to be able to be duplicated, but I will try.

  4. I love your yard and outside. It looks pretty, peaceful, a real Happy Place. Stunning trees, and the morning sky was indeed awesome.
    Loved your yarns, they turned out beautifully.
    Enjoy your long weekend, we are back at work here in SA. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

