Big technology week!   9 comments

At work my plain old cell phone got traded in for an iPhone 6.  I hope no one calls, I am not sure I know how to answer it.  I did learn how to turn off all the beeps so I could sleep while Facebook updates, the auto emails come in, etc.  🙂

Tonight my brand new laptop arrived.  I had been using the work one for so long that I almost forgot I didn’t own it. Now that it is back on my desk, I was without internet at home, so I used my tax travel $$ to get a new one.

It is Windows 8.  Someday I will figure out how to get the wireless working.  Meanwhile, we are back to the tripping cord of death.  Actually, I will take it to work tomorrow and get my IT buddy to help me figure out why it doesn’t recognize our wi-fi (but it finds the neighbor’s?!?)

Now, I have to figure out how to crop and save my photos on this new thing. then you can see what I have been up to lately, not just read words.  🙂

Posted May 13, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out, what I am thinking about

Tagged with

9 responses to “Big technology week!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have fun with your new technology. Its fun once you have the hang of it. 🙂 all the best.

  2. A new phone to play with is always fun. Cool!

  3. You’re funny! Isn’t technology great? It either doesn’t work or it works in ways you don’t want it to. I’m still trying to figure out how to answer my phone. My phone company sent me a notice the other day that it’s time to upgrade. Really? I haven’t figured out how to use the one I have.

    slippedstitches
    • lol – I completely hear you on that! When they told me I would have to trade in my phone for an iphone 6, I think they thought I would be over the moon. The look on my face had them quickly saying it would be easy once I got the hang of it. 🙂

  4. Oh no! change! I am not a fan of change. I have my son’s Iphone 4 and that was a crazy change for me. I also have a surface with windows 8 and have learned how to use it for the most part. There are still things I don’t know how to do and I have to go to the main computer to do, but someday I will get it all figured out and hubby will want to buy me something new. Ugh. I hate technology and my boys and hubby love it so they are always in the know. I prefer to keep what I have and know for forever. Is that too much to ask?

    • no, it isn’t too much to ask! Thankfully with the Windows 8 there is a button I can click on to make it look like the old windows. I learned to click that one fast! The IT guy gave me some pointers, so tonight we will see if I can manage. 🙂

  5. Congratulations! I always find upgrades/new technology a mixed blessing. I’m not at all computer savvy and have a very low frustration threshold where stuff like this is concerned. Luckily, once I finally figure something out, it sticks with me until I have to do it all over again. Have fun!

  6. I have a Win8 laptop myself. I’m not a huge fan of the metro ‘start’ page, so I spent $5 and downloaded Start8 which is a neat little program that gives you your more traditional start menu button back. It solves the problem of trying to find things with the metro interface, and is far more familiar if you’ve been using Window’s for years.

    Of course, it’s not necessary, but I’ve found that it made my Win8 computing experience much better (and no, I’m in no way affiliated with Star8, I just like their start menu!).

    • I spoke to the IT guy today – he hates Windows 8 but has it on his own computer, so he showed me a few things – I copied the wifi profile from the computer that works – still nothing, which he thinks means it is the router settings. UGH. Now I am lost. I’ll just deal with this and hope that Windows 10 is better.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

