Got a job!   14 comments

Do you remember last fall when I was burned out, exhausted, unable to cope?  And I asked my bosses for a 6 month sabbatical, during which time I would do the tax program, and only the tax program, then take off a couple of months before coming back, and when I came back I would do the job on my job description, and only that one?  Not the three or four others that I also was trying to do?

Remember how they said no, that just wouldn’t work for them?  And how I was so fried I felt I had no option but to quit?  They were surprised but didn’t change their minds, except to say they would pay me to do the tax program?  I operated on the assumption that when tax season ended, so would my employment.  I was OK with that.  More so than was A, who does our bookkeeping.  🙂  But I knew we had some savings, and would survive, if not thrive.

Just before tax season ended, those same bosses posted my job.  The one I wanted to do, without all the other stuff attached.

I applied.  I interviewed.  I negotiated as best I could for the salary/benefits package I wanted.  We reached an agreement on that front, although not as much as the bookkeeper and I would have liked, it is a fair deal.

I start Monday.  At my old place of employment, with my old boss, in my old seat.  I won’t have as much responsibility, I won’t be an exempt employee, and I will have to work on Fridays. I think I can live with all of that.  Because I think I will get home at a decent hour, and if I work a 50 or 60 hour week, I will get paid for those extra hours.  I hope it won’t happen, though, because while I am very happy to be back, I do still wish I got that month or two off.  But other than that, I actually got everything I asked for last fall, that they said they could not possibly do.

Pretty good!

So, when I post my Friday list, it will likely be the last one for a while. Maybe I will change to weekend lists? Or maybe just save the concept for those rare Fridays I have off in the future..

Of course, I will still buy lottery tickets.  Hope springs eternal!

Posted April 30, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out, what I am thinking about

Tagged with , ,

14 responses to “Got a job!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on getting most of what you wanted. It was somewhat weird of what you had to go through though. So was it just you taking time off they had a problem with?

  2. Sometimes you wonder … 🙂 What a relief to be “back on track”! However, I understand your longing for a free month! Looking forward to blog posts to come – whether it’d be Friday or any other day of the week.

    • Thanks, Carina! It will be an adjustment, to work 5 days – I haven’t done that schedule in many years. But I think I can do it, and getting home several hours earlier each evening will be wonderful!

  3. Well done. That sounds like almost perfect.

  4. congratulations for sticking to your guns and managing to negotiate better work conditions ^^

  5. Their first line of defense is always to say “Nope, no can do.” Their last line of defense is always doing what they said they could never do.

    slippedstitches
    • I know they were surprised when I said I really had to stop, even if it meant quitting. And I was up front that I didn’t want to quit. I think that helped in the interview process, that I really wanted to still work there. Not that I am swinging back and forth. Pretty consistent, actually.

  6. Wow, glad that worked out for you! Ridiculous that you had to go through all that just to get what you wanted in the first place, though.

  7. Congrats! If you’re happy with the deal, I’m happy for you (but I still hope you win lotto! LOL Those Bead Stores are awaitin’….:)

    I do hope you are able to keep posting regularly, but who am I kiddin’? I may go incognito and then catch up over the last few days, weeks, months – 🙂
    No matter what you choose that works with your ‘goin-back-to-work’ life, we’ll be waiting here – ready to cheer when you get your new routine into place! 🙂
    Best wishes for an awesome first work week!

    • I am happy (would be happier, I think, with a big lottery win, of course) so appreciate the support! I will post regularly, I promise. I used to do it when I had a job, no reason to think I can’t get back in that routine. 🙂

  8. Congrats on getting the job. It must have been meant for you all along.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

