Easter Sunday and a funny (knitting) story   10 comments

Today we got a reasonably early start – Sister-in-law L came over and we headed off to Mom’s for a festive lunch.  Brother and sister C were both there, with their significant others.  Brother N and his family did not make it, nor did niece B, but we had a nice group for the meal. Little niece E was in rare form, wriggling and chatting, but reasonably well-behaved.  She told us a story about her plan to see if her parents hid the eggs or the Easter Bunny did.  She and her mom dyed eggs, and when they were done, put them in the fridge. In the morning, they were gone from the fridge, and hidden around the house.  She did NOT think the Easter Bunny had found them in the fridge and hidden them.  Because the house is always locked, so how would he get in?(No chimney, I suggested that.)

While we were eating, my sister told us that the other evening, she used some leftover fingering weight yarn to knit up a quick cuff on her size 1 DPNs.  She left her knitting on the table when she went to bed.  In the morning, E saw it and thought I was there, because of the tiny knitting.  My sister was chuckling. “She is so used to me knitting these big chunky things!”  We were both impressed that this kid NOTICED what we knit, that she had profiled me as far as knitting goes.

They told me they have a huge bead store in Portland.  I will check it out, but that is 2.5 hours away….  Not going there every week, right?

We came home mid-afternoon so L could continue her trip and get home before dark, and so we could settle down and watch basketball.  Go UCONN! (Not sure we will actually watch the UCONN game, as it is on so late – but we will record it and see it tomorrow before the boys final game.  Meanwhile, we watch Notre Dame and So Carolina battle it out.)

Before the game began, I was able to get a few photos of things I am working on these days – two shawls for the lace leaf knit along –

The first in a blue-green boucle from Done Roving Farm in Charlotte (many years ago) on large needles – it is quite a bit bigger than the second, which is knit on smaller needles with smaller yarn – a purple variegated yarn from One Lupine in Bangor.

blue-green shawl week one

shawl week one

And here is a shot of the Charleston baby sweater  all done – buttons on, blocked and dried.  🙂  The hat is done as well, but it was too dark for a photo when I got the ribbon on it and the bow tied.  Look forward to that photo someday in the future.

charleston sweater complete

Other projects progress slowly but do progress, which is all good.  🙂

Busy week this week – 4 tax days, and the one day off, I have an 8 am doctor’s appointment.  But then I only have two tax days left after that, and we are done.  One thing about tax season – it does not wind down – it is like jumping off a cliff or something – you go full tilt, full speed ahead, then stop as on a dime, and that is it for another year.

Oh, and for all of you posting lovely shots of your daffodils, I thought you might like to see a shot of my yard that I took this weekend.  And you should know that the “S” word is in the forecast for the whole 5 days they will talk about.  So we are still getting that stuff at least two days a week.  If this keeps up all summer, I may go mad.  Anyway, this week is the first we have been able to see a sign of this bench – at least two feet of snow has melted, but you can see there is a long way to go before we get a flower of any sort.

bench in spring

10 responses to “Easter Sunday and a funny (knitting) story

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh no…you need days and nights with the temps above freezing for that to recede. We are virtually snow free now. Little Antartica is just a memory. Our crocus came up. The daffs are breaking thought the ground and just today I noticed the tulips have stuck their little shoots out to test the air.

    How did you like the sweater pattern? Any suggestion on how I should change it and improve it? I love the color.

    slippedstitches
    • I know!!! We get warmer days ( a few a week) but the nights are still very cold it was ten yesterday morning. but Friday it got well into the 50s. so we are on a spring roller coaster. 🙂

      The sweater – I thought the apttern was nice and simple to follow, you wrote it so clearly. One thing I had to change, because I am left handed – the crochet trim. I can’t start on the left front with the right side facing and head in the correct direction, so I just started on the other side, went the other way, and paid close attention (counted stitches down from the neck) on the button holes.
      Also, because I hate purling, I would probably work the pattern so that the K2 P2 rows were on the wrong side, and the next row would be k across, not P across, but that is me, not the pattern. I found the hat went much faster, and since it is in the round, that is how it works. So I made myself a note for next time.
      But both of these things are little things that are my idiosyncrasies, things I am used to dealing with when I knit. 🙂

  2. I do hope there will be some daffodils Under all that snow when it finally melts ^^

    • oh, me too! The good news is that the asparagus bed and little forsythia are clear of their snow banks, so they can start growing and blooming in a short time.

  3. The baby sweater is like fire. Lovely job on that.

  4. Your stitchings on the needles are looking great! Love both the colors. The baby sweater is darling! Can’t wait to see the matching hat.

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

