In the pink   7 comments

When I was a little kid, in the grades, I never, ever wore green, but most especially never, ever on March 17th.  My mother came from a family with a strong Scots/English heritage, and she always put an orange ribbon in my hair for school this day.  I didn’t really understand it all then, but I knew one thing –  I was the only kid in the class who wasn’t Irish and proud of it on March 17th.

Here’s the funny part.  My Dad does have some Irish in his background – along with French, German, and Scots. But my mother was having none of that.  She pointed out that the Scots far outweighed the Irish in her children.  🙂

Then, when I was a teen, my dad married an Irish-American woman who was rightly proud of her family’s heritage.  Suddenly, there was no talk of me owning anything orange on March 17th! I had better get some green hair ribbons. For many years, I wore green AND orange hair ribbons on St Paddy’s Day.

Truthfully?  I don’t look good in green OR orange. So, just to keep the peace and me looking my best, today I am wearing pink. I think pink looks nice with green and orange.  But not both at once.

Posted March 17, 2015 by salpal1 in Uncategorized

7 responses to “In the pink

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m wearing orange today and was yesterday as it happens! I grew up in Ireland but although I remember St Patrick’s Day being fun it doesn’t resonate and it means nothing here. Pink is GOOD

  2. You can never go wrong in pink, in my opinion 😉

  3. I missed the whole Irish thing while growing up. I thought it absurd, all the green. It was the 1960s and anything that even had a whiff of tradition was disdained.

  4. Wear your pink and be happy with it. As long as a colour makes you happy, why not. Just look at our flag, and the abundant load of colours, we can really choose! 🙂 Mostly we tend to go for the Green though!

  5. It was fun to read about your family.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

