A little card making   2 comments

We have several birthdays in March, and of course, I try to make cards for family birthdays. So I have been up in the craft room lately, mucking about with paper and pen…

I can show you one that I finished for last week, it should have arrived at its destination by now.

Diane's birthday 2015

I made this for my sister-in-law, D.  I hope it brightened her day and gave her hope of spring flowers to come.

There are two more that go in the mail tomorrow, I’ll post photos of them next weekend.  I have one more to make for the end of the month, but I got distracted while I was in the craft room, and made these two, which I put up for sale on Etsy.

iris card

lady slipper card

They have some sparkle which doesn’t show – I tried to get good photos but couldn’t, so finally settled for a scan.  That gets the colors right, and sharp images, but loses sparkle.  I’ll try for more shots of them tomorrow if the sun comes out.  These are relatively simple cards – a rubber stamped image on water color paper, then colored with water color pencils and washed with water.  Trimmed, mounted on pretty paper and highlighted with my favorite accessory – Sakura glitter pen in the clear color, number 0700.

I had to give my hands a break from all the knitting I have been doing lately, they were getting achy!  But I think that making cards is a good substitute when it comes to being creative.  And when all goes well, the finished objects come more quickly than say, a lace shawl.  🙂

Posted March 7, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “A little card making

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love the one for your sister in law! looking forward to spring flowers 🙂 handmade cards are so much better than the store bought kind !

    • Thanks! When I made that one, I made lots of extra “flowers” so I might make a few different versions of the card in the next few weeks. 🙂 I also am looking forward to some spring flowers. Or even mud….

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

