On running out of yarn   6 comments

I know I filled you all in on the fact that I can’t do math when it comes to yardage (I am good on number of skeins, but had a brain cramp when it came to realizing all skeins are not the same), and I think I told you I spent a bit of time searching Ravelry for a match.

In all of that process, I came up with an alternative, and ordered some yarn that I thought would look nice with my yarn of choice.  I also reached out to a Ravelry user – the ONLY ONE with the right lot of yarn in her stash.

The paler yarn came in the mail today.

charleston one option

But I am not going to immediately cast on, because the wonderful Raveler emailed to say that she (I assume it is a she, I don’t actually know the name yet) would ship me the yarn in her stash.  And she doesn’t want anything in return, it is just leftover from a past project!

So, I will wait for it to arrive, and if it is all as perfect as I suspect it will be, I will save this peachy-coral yarn for a future project.  Note that I got three skeins, even though I think I only need two.  I am learning.  Of course, if I try to do this project in that color alone, I will need 4… So I guess I WON’T do that.  🙂

Now, I won’t let her generosity go unpunished unthanked, of course.   I need to start thinking of ways to show my appreciation.  If this was you, what would make YOU feel that your gesture was very much appreciated?

Posted February 25, 2015 by salpal1 in what I am making

Tagged with , ,

6 responses to “On running out of yarn

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s a way to gift patterns to people on Ravelry. I’ve had people to that for me from time to time, and it’s always made me feel really special that they took the time to check out my queue and pattern library and find something they thing I’d like.

  2. What a nice person to send you that yarn. I hope it’s a perfect match. You could always send her a couple of skeins of yarn or a little something knitted.

  3. I love that coral color with the deeper orange. There are so many ways of introducing the colors. Your knitting stitches are really beautiful. May I ask the color and yarn name of the three new ones? I’m really loving them.

    • Thank you! It is Baby Ull, peach color number 3507, this dye lot is 0134. I did get the yarn from the Ravelry angel, so I am moving forward again. But the next one might be a bi-color one:-)

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

