Snow Day!   9 comments

It is so pretty out there!  Of course, I say that from safe and warm on my couch, fire between me and the outdoors.  🙂

I did go out around 10, and will again in a  few minutes – we have to make sure to keep the vent for the hot water clear or we have no heat.  That would be bad.

Going out there this morning made me wish I had finished my warm mittens, so I am working on them today.  I hope to get them done this afternoon.

I also worked on some valentines, which I put up for sale over at Etsy.

As recommended by you lovely readers, I explored the forums and got feedback on my listings.  Titles are longer now, tags more closely match, and things come up in a search, if you know what to search for!  Now, to make them come up when you DON’T know what to search for. That is my next challenge.  The last link I posted didn’t work well, apparently, so please, try this one, and feel free to look and comment if you like.  Or shop!  🙂 http://www.etsy.com/shop/SalpalCrafts

Here’s my favorite card from this batch:

medallion valentine (square) for blog

I made a similar one to give to A.  That is one trouble I can foresee – making things to sell and still making fresh things for family…Do I just make tons, put them up for sale, give what doesn’t sell?  Or make duplicates?  Or make completely different ones?  I suspect I will do all of these at some point. But for now, it is immaterial as nothing has sold.  🙂  I’ll use them for family if they are still here in a week or so.

Now, out to shovel, then back to knit mittens.

(By the way, I finished the body of the blue sweater, it is up drying out, neatly blocked.  Sleeves are cast on and slowly but surely growing.  I hope to wear it this winter.  🙂 )

Posted January 27, 2015 by salpal1 in Uncategorized

9 responses to “Snow Day!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great to hear that your sweater is moving along!

    The Valentines are very pretty. Personally, I’d just make a bunch, send them to family and then put the rest up for sale (but that’s me!).

    Hope you’re staying warm in this storm, I wish I had a fireplace. We’re pushing 2 feet here in southern NH (we’re in the “blizzard warning zone”) and it’s got no sign of stopping any time soon!

    • yes, NH is in the heart of the storm, but take heart, the weather report shows long bands of clearing coming across Vermont toward you! They say we will get 16-20 inches, stopping in about twelve hours. that will be good. As for a fire, I guess I would not choose to live here without it, our power goes off more often than not during a storm (just lucky so far this time, light fluffy snow!) so we can keep warm even without regular heat.

      • If I ever get a house, it’s going to have a (working!) fireplace. I’ve always wanted one. That and a yard. 🙂 Glad to know you’re weathering the storm well! It’s gotten thick here again, so I’m thinking one of the heavier bands is going over at the moment.

        • hang in there, it has to stop eventually right? fireplaces are good, wood stoves are even better! We have one of those in the basement and a pellet stove in the living room. That doesn’t work when the power is out, but the wood stove down cellar keeps the house from freezing. It is a lovely thing to feel safe.

  2. That is awesome.

  3. Enjoy the snow day and happy crafting while you can. Stay warm. 🙂

  4. Love your store. It’s really coming along nicely.

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

