Christmas Cards   6 comments

I think that all but two have been delivered by now, so it is safe to show you the cards I made for us to send out this year.

I started with two photos I took this fall, of our asparagus plants with nice red berries.  A and I did not agree on which one to use for the card, so I did half with one and half with the other.

#1

asparagus 3

#2

asparagus 8

Which one do you like better?

I printed the photos on a nice linen textured paper, at a size of about 3.75 by 5 (inches) rounded the corners with a punch, and then got to work with my beloved Cricut, cutting out a huge pile of “Peace on Earth” in red, at about two inches.  That’s Cricut inches, which seem to bear no relation to any other measurement known to woman.

Cricut

Next, I spritzed them with Tattered Angels shimmer spray, in a gold color, and then highlighted the “on” with smooch moonlight ink.

peace in a box

with and without smooch

Yes, sometimes I get bogged down in the details, but doesn’t the bottom one look better than the top one?

The last bit of shine I added was to highlight the dew drops with a Sakura silver star pen.

I attached the Peace on Earth to the photo (it is hard to take photos that show sparkle – does anyone have tips on this, in the dark of winter?)

almost done, no flash

almost done auto correct and flash

Then, attached the whole to a card made of soft gray textured cardstock

scan card 2

(This is a scan made with the fancy new printer) Card made with photo number 1.

card 1

(This is a photo) Card made with the photo number 2.

Have you changed your mind about which photo makes a better card?

hallmark 2014

The last little bit, to stamp the back with the hallmark.  I love this little angel stamp.

These were quite simple to make, and went quickly – and not a speck of glitter, so no long dry time!  A procrastinating crafter’s dream.  🙂

Posted January 1, 2015 by salpal1 in how it came out, what I am making

Tagged with , , ,

6 responses to “Christmas Cards

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Creative!

  2. I really like them. Think i prefer number 2 but would have been more than happy to have received either! Happy new year x.

  3. I loved the “quite simple to make”. No, really they are not. You do fantastic work with your cards that the average person (like me) can’t do. I loved both pictures; both were perfect. Have you thought of selling your card work? It really is all so beautiful and artistic.

    • thank you! I have thought about it, and might do something someday, but it drives me nuts when, like knitting, I see such under priced products out there. Why should a handmade card be dollars cheaper than a store bought card? they should at least be the same. So until I find the right market… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

