It’s Monday, and already I am thinking about my Friday list   4 comments

I have 9 more days of working at this job.

I am pretty sure I quit several weeks ago.

This morning my boss told me they are still trying to sort out how to get all my work done, when I am gone.  And they think they will hold off on making any permanent moves until the end of January, when they will call me and see what I think.

What I THINK?  I think that at the end of January I will be hip deep in organizational details and tax law, and won’t have a moment to think about all the parts of what I do now that have nothing to do with taxes. I think that they are really counting on the fact that I didn’t MEAN to quit.

Which, of course, is true. I tried to get a long leave of absence, sabbatical -like.  They thought that was bad for the organization (and likely, they are right.)  They said no, I said fine, then I guess I have to quit.  I gave them a date.  I said I would work part-time doing the taxes, then I would be completely done in April.  That I need some serious time off, but that I am open to discussing options IN THE SPRING.  Not the end of January. Now they seem  to think that might mean writing some grants this winter, or doing some research.  I did agree to do the annual report if they can’t get it done any other way as there is a contractual obligation there, and I can use last year’s as a template, work on it at home in my own time and be done with it when finished. I then suggested three people who could do it for them. But that is not the same as writing grants, and it is not ongoing, open-ended. It is not HARD.

They seem to think that by the end of January, I will be rested and ready to return to work. I will let them think that and call, and I will again explain to them that I really don’t even want to think about the future or my job or anything until at least a month after tax season.  More like two.  I am tired, burned out, and cranky with it.

Yesterday A and I were watching a sappy movie, in which the heroine has  boyfriend who sits on the couch and plays video games all day while she works.  He ignores her when she gets home from work.  A said to me “That happens once, and I am out of here.”

Ut-oh.  Note to self – if you sit  on the couch and knit all day, make sure that you at least put the breakfast dishes in the dishwasher first. And pay attention when she gets home.

I am looking forward to having time to putter away with long to-do lists and nothing that MUST get done in a certain time frame.  I am looking forward to having that darned pool up and full of water when summer gets here.  I am looking forward to being able to clean a little bit of the house each day and keep it tidy.  To really finishing organizing that craft room, a bit at a time. To exploring ways to make money with the things I make (not a living, maybe, but something).

I am NOT looking forward to fielding calls from work asking me to do odds and ends of the job that I left because it was too overwhelming. How is that a break and resting?

So.  Friday.  A whole day.  What will I start?  What will I get done? I had better go start my list, because I am looking forward to it!

Posted December 15, 2014 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with

4 responses to “It’s Monday, and already I am thinking about my Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Close no doors. Leave yourself open to all opportunities each day one day at a time. It’s not a time of drawing lines in the sand and rigidity. It’s a time of exploration and change and going with the flow. It’s a time to breathe.

  2. Oh dear, I so know how you feel… that’s a terrible way to live, so tired and stressed. Get out of there, if your heart tells you to. Because if you don’t, there will be other and better opportunities out there for you, but they will not reveal themselves to you if you are too tired to spot them! Best of luck and enjoy the entire Friday!

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

