Sunday evening   5 comments

Busy weekend!

Saturday we went to Bangor so that A could help L with her laundry and shopping – likely the last time we have to do that, because she really can manage on her own now, with some forethought.  A backpack works for carrying the laundry up the stairs, and groceries can be carried into the house a little at a time.  She is making amazing progress!

While in town, I ran over to the Maine Harvest Festival – like a GIANT farmers market, held once a year..  I was headed in for my annual supply of cranberries – they were 5 pounds for $10 – great price for locally grown big fat lovely berries.

I also got some toffee and some, well, maybe this will surprise you – yarn.  This is yarn from a store I have mentioned before – One Lupine.  It is beautiful, grays and purples, wool and bamboo blend with a touch of nylon.  Should make lovely socks.  🙂

Today we emptied the freezer and cleaned it – and then went to the dump and got rid of all that spoiled food.  Then we went to the grocery store and picked up a few things.  It will take weeks to restore the freezer and fridge to their former stocked up for winter state.  😦

Then I spent the last hours of daylight to finally finish this monster puzzle that we started when L came to stay – she never really did any of it, but once we got to a certain point, I could not put it away until it was done – 2000 pieces!  Many which seemed to fit where they should not, it was a challenge, to say the least.

2000 pieces

Here’s a quick knitting update – finished the Tern socks, They are cozy and warm, and I love the soft blues and grays.sws #24 complete 2

I adapted that pattern to make some finger-less mitts a friend requested – they are coming along. I couldn’t work on these when the power was out – the black is too hard to see in the candlelight.  But now that we have power, I am back to working steadily on these, too. Simple rectangles that are mirror images of themselves, and when done, just need a side seam sewn up, leaving a gap for the thumb.

tern mitts in process

I started the next pair of socks – they are pink, from some Cascade Heritage yarn I picked up last week (having realized that I was almost out of sock yarn!) I haven’t decided on a pattern yet, but know how many stitches to cast on, so I am working on the toe, and will choose a pattern before I get too much farther.  🙂

Allie and Zumba insisted on going out on the deck today – can you guess where the bird feeder is? They love watching it from the deck but can’t seem to figure out that they could sit on the window seat in the bedroom and be warm while they watch the same birds.

cats on deck

They are cute, but maybe not so bright.

A has tomorrow off, I have Tuesday – not sure what I will do with a whole extra free day this week!

5 responses to “Sunday evening

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the socks. Glad you guest is feeling better. Sometimes healing goes fast. I have never thought of working fingerless gloves as two rectangles. I need to make a few for myself this year and that construction may just help me start a set.

    The two frozen kitties are cute. Sitting inside and watching from the window is not the same as being outside and knowing you can pounce any second when you feel like it.

    • My sister has a pattern that knits two tubes, with some back and forth for teh thumb hole. I always struggled to make two the same that way, and came up with this modification – it works OK for me. 🙂

      Yes, the cats definitely prefer to be outside watching teh birds, to inside. they also think the birds will come to them. Hasn’t happened yet. 🙂

  2. Nice socks. Perfect for a cold day. That is one puzzle completed.

  3. Your Kitties are so cute, and look at the lovely leaves on the deck. 🙂
    I totally understand about the puzzle. I build one every “long” vacation. I have two ready to start when I break for summer, it is nice to have around for our rainy afternoons when we have to go inside for a while until the rains passed. Love yours.

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

